Enterprise Manager - can't see database - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34

Thread: Enterprise Manager - can't see database

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    200
    Hi there,

    This is getting to be time critical - If anyone can help I would be eternally grateful.

    A
    What's the sound of one hand clapping - "CL"

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Have you checked to see if you have an entry for the database in the services.ora?

    This doc should help

    http://support.oracle.co.uk/metalink...&p_id=185547.1

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    200
    Hi Jovery,

    I looked at the note you suggested, I ran the lsnrctl status command and received the following result:

    Connecting to (ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=tcp)(PORT=1521))
    STATUS of the LISTENER
    ------------------------
    Alias LISTENER
    Version TNSLSNR for Linux: Version 9.2.0.1.0 - Production
    Start Date 19-NOV-2002 11:58:53
    Uptime 15 days 22 hr. 9 min. 26 sec
    Trace Level off
    Security OFF
    SNMP OFF
    Listener Parameter File /home/portals/NETWORK/ADMIN/listener.ora
    Listener Log File /opt/oracle920/network/log/listener.log
    Listening Endpoints Summary...
    (DESCRIPTION=(ADDRESS=(PROTOCOL=tcp)(HOST=cream.eclecticgroup.co.uk)(PORT=1521)))
    Services Summary...
    Service "PORTALS.world" has 1 instance(s).
    Instance "PORTALS", status READY, has 1 handler(s) for this service...
    The command completed successfully


    This shows the service PORTALS.WORLD, it's the database that I can't see - I don't have the option to use the GUI Configuration assistant on this machine.

    The Services.ora file is as follows (no mention of PORTALS)

    cream.eclecticgroup.co.uk = (ORACLE_NODE, cream.eclecticgroup.co.uk, cream.eclec
    ticgroup.co.uk, (PLATFORM=(osName=Linux)(osVersion=2.4.18)(oracleHomes=/opt/orac
    le920)))
    cream.eclecticgroup.co.uk:4443 = (oracle_sysman_webserver, cream.eclecticgroup.c
    o.uk, http://cream.eclecticgroup.co.uk:4443/server-status, unavailable, /opt/ora
    cle920/Apache/Apache/conf/httpd.conf, /opt/oracle920/Apache/Apache)

    Any further ideas would be appreciated.

    Allie
    What's the sound of one hand clapping - "CL"

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    You could try the following:

    On the target host

    1. Take backups of services.ora and snmp*.ora
    2. Delete the services.ora and snmp*.ora
    3. Stop and restart the agent.
    4. Check to see if the service is added to services.ora

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    200
    Did what you suggested with no success, strangely over the past hour I created an instance on another NT machine, this database show's up in the navigator, however the database on the Linux machine still doesn't.

    I refreshed the discovery of all the nodes.

    Thanks for all your help, any new suggestions.

    A
    What's the sound of one hand clapping - "CL"

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Very odd

    Do you get any errors/warnings in the following log on the target

    $ORACLE_HOME/network/agent/log/nmiconf.log

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    200
    There isn't any log created, there is nothing in the /agent/log directory.

    This is totally stumping me - and metalink dosent' seem to be helping me.
    What's the sound of one hand clapping - "CL"

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Is the service now listed in the services.ora or is it still missing. Also can you discover the host if you use an IP address instead of the hostname/dns

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    200
    The services are still not in the services.ora file - I added the portals service manually, however as soon as I stopped and started the agent the entries were (as expected) overwritten.

    I have noticed something else, in the navigator tree (where I can't see the database) I also can't see the listener associated with cream (the node) but I can see the listeners for the other 2 NT nodes that are discovered.

    I discovered all my nodes through IP addresses rather than host names.

    For reference I have added the contents of the listener.ora file.

    Thanks again for sticking with this..

    PORTALS =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS =
    (COMMUNITY = tcp)
    (PROTOCOL = tcp)
    (Host = )
    (Port = 10001)
    )
    )

    SID_LIST_PORTALS =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (SID_NAME = PORTALS)
    (ORACLE_HOME = /opt/oracle920)
    )
    )

    T01 =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS =
    (COMMUNITY = tcp)
    (PROTOCOL = tcp)
    (Host = 10.0.0.101)
    (Port = 11001)
    )
    )

    SID_LIST_T01 =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (SID_NAME = T01)
    (ORACLE_HOME = /opt/oracle920)
    )
    )
    What's the sound of one hand clapping - "CL"

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    Based on the startup prcess of the IA does any of this help.

    1. First it reads the oratab file to see what services are on the host
    a. Is the oratab file in a default location?
    b. Is it readable by the agent user?
    c. Are the services listed there?

    2. Once the oratab file is read it reads the listener.ora from the $ORACLE_HOME specified in the oratab file.
    a. Is the listener.ora file in the default location?
    b. Is a GLOBAL_DBNAME defined if not it reads tnsnames.ora

    This will create the services.ora file, as you do not have any entries in this file looks like there is a mistake in the definition of one of these files.
    oratab
    listener.ora
    tnsnames.ora

    Can you review them and check they are okay, if you still cannot resolve the problem post the contents and give the locations back on this thread

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width