Slow database - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Slow database

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    107
    Tarry,

    Missed your post, could you please expand

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    all full scans no wonder it takes long in the first execution, expected behaviour itīs not a parameter related problem

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    107
    Pando,

    It does full scans for the 2nd, 3rd...so why is the first one longer that the others?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany.Laudenbach
    Posts
    448
    Hi,
    Because the db_cache holds any of the first selected blocks
    so you would not have to read them again.

    Orca

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    119
    There you go, while database is coming up, it's got a flushed SGA. Once you run your sql, it will fetch those blocks in the cache, and next time performance will be improved. Still 3 hours is a weird time. YOU didn't say anything on amount of data fetched !
    OCP 8.0, 8i, 9i

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    107
    This now affects any in-depth queries (such as joins
    or subselects)

    Does anyone else have areas that I might look at. I export the tables in the select statement to a test database and the script run fine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width