ORA-01658: unable to create INITIAL extent for segment in tablespace ???????
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ORA-01658: unable to create INITIAL extent for segment in tablespace ???????

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Herts, UK
    Posts
    10

    ORA-01658: unable to create INITIAL extent for segment in tablespace ???????

    I'm attempting to do an Import into a recently constructed Test version of our Live database. Problem is that during the import process I get a numerous "ORA-01658: unable to create INITIAL extent for segment in tablespace ??????" . I have ensured the tablespaces for all are >= to the Live environment. I've tried to even import one table at a time, but even that doesn't work.

    Does anyone have any ideas or suggestions how I can fix this?

    Thanks
    Indy

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    because you exported with compress=y option so if in production you have 10 extents of 10mb each in your import database you need an initial extent of 100MB

    the fix is increase your tablespace space or coalesce the tablespace so you can have a big enough extent with contiguos freespace

    too bad you shouldnt use compree=y :(

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Location
    Chennai, India
    Posts
    865
    You could create the tables manually in the test database and now import with rows=y, ignore=y from the export dump.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Herts, UK
    Posts
    10
    Thanks Guys for your quick response.

    Pando - Is there any SQL I can use to interogate the database to find out exactly how much the tablespace needs to be?

    ggnanaraj - Thanks for the tip. Sounds very useful if I ever want to import a few tables. Can't use it this time as I have 700+ tables.
    Indy

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    1,203
    Make sure the user you are importing into has Quotas on the tablespaces.
    OCP 8i, 9i DBA
    Brisbane Australia

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    Originally posted by Indy
    Thanks Guys for your quick response.

    Pando - Is there any SQL I can use to interogate the database to find out exactly how much the tablespace needs to be?

    ggnanaraj - Thanks for the tip. Sounds very useful if I ever want to import a few tables. Can't use it this time as I have 700+ tables.

    select owner, tablespace_name, sum(bytes/(1024*1024))
    from dba_segments
    group by owner, tablespace_name;

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width