start a db without using svrmgrl
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: start a db without using svrmgrl

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    23

    start a db without using svrmgrl

    Ok everyone I thought I posted this, then it disappeared. So here it is again.

    How do I startup/shutdown/create a database without using svrmgrl? I think it is connect sqldba, but what is the password?

    Also how do I put this in my scripts? I used to connect to svrmgrl in my scripts. Any ideas?

    Thanks
    Michellea
    Michellea
    "Live Life to the Fullest"

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    sqldba is like.... oracle 6?

    use sqlplus

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    725
    if you are in the dba group then :

    sqlplus /nolog
    conn / as sysdba
    Once you have eliminated all of the impossible,
    whatever remains however improbable,
    must be true.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    23

    Does anyone have

    Does anyone have a script that will log you in to create the database instance?

    Why does my connect \ as sysdba keep asking for a password?

    Michellea
    Michellea
    "Live Life to the Fullest"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758

    Re: Does anyone have

    Originally posted by msouthern
    Does anyone have a script that will log you in to create the database instance?

    Why does my connect \ as sysdba keep asking for a password?

    Michellea
    Where would you login before creating database??

    To create the database:
    - Create the directoy structure.
    - Decide how you wil arrange your files and naming conventions.
    - Prepare the parameter file.
    - Startup the instance in no mount.
    sqlplus /nolog
    connect sys as sysdba
    startup nomount
    - Prepare the create_db script and run.
    - Run Catalog.sql and catproc.sql
    - Create additional Rollback Segs, tablespaces etc.


    HTH
    Sanjay
    Last edited by SANJAY_G; 11-06-2002 at 12:10 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Louisville KY
    Posts
    295
    There is a minor issue of what platform you are on (NT, Unix or whatever).

    There is a secondary issue of why/what you are doing.

    If Oracle is already installed and operational on the box, you can use the create database statement in either svrmgrx (in the older versions) or sqlplus (in 8ix/9ix), but must use one of them.

    The platform issues is creating the services and starting them on NT. The 'create database' statement does not create or start the services, etc. and if Oracle is not installed, I am not sure it can be done (at least, not without more NT knowledge than I have.)

    There are also some other issues about environmental variables, etc.

    The point is, why are you creating the database 'blindly'?

    If it is for a product installation, you may be better off using a clone of a server or doing an install and using an export file with no data. (On an installed Oracle a full export with ROWS=N will give the definitions of all objects in the database and can be used to recreate the database skeleton.)
    Joseph R.P. Maloney, CSP,CDP,CCP
    'The answer is 42'

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width