Get Confused after recovering a non-archivelog database
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Get Confused after recovering a non-archivelog database

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    433

    Get Confused after recovering a non-archivelog database

    I just did a recover to a production database . But I still have some confusion :

    The database is Oracle8.0.X and working in non-archivelog mode .

    Today , The database is not opened and It stays in Mount mode , and Ora-01113 indicate there is a datafile need to have media recover .

    As I have only last night export backup file and I don't want to jump
    to that long recover process (recreate the db , import the file etc)

    So I just try recover database in svrmgr ,(without doing anything before )

    Lucky , the system report media recover is successful and I can alter database open .


    My exprience told me that recover database is only working in archivelog mode and system will prompt me the archive log file . How it works for nonarchivelog mode database ?

    One think I can think is maybe the media recover source is redo log file which 'repair' the damage datafile . I guess if the log switch occured before , there would be no hope for this databse being recovered by using this way .


    Gurus , Please clarify my understanding .
    1. www.dbasupport.com
    2. www.dbforums.com
    3. www.itpub.net
    4. www.csdn.net
    5. www.umlchina.com
    6. www.tek-tips.com
    7. www.cnforyou.com
    8. fm365.federal.com.cn
    9. www.programmersheaven.com
    10.http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp
    ligang1000@hotmail.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758

    Re: Get Confused after recovering a non-archivelog database

    Originally posted by ligang
    One think I can think is maybe the media recover source is redo log file which 'repair' the damage datafile . I guess if the log switch occured before , there would be no hope for this databse being recovered by using this way .
    You are right.

    Sanjay

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    433
    recover database command usually will prompt user to enter the archivelog file name , right ? (ORA-00289)

    but in my case , it's just through , Is there any parameter setting to make it automatically ?
    1. www.dbasupport.com
    2. www.dbforums.com
    3. www.itpub.net
    4. www.csdn.net
    5. www.umlchina.com
    6. www.tek-tips.com
    7. www.cnforyou.com
    8. fm365.federal.com.cn
    9. www.programmersheaven.com
    10.http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp
    ligang1000@hotmail.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    433
    Another concern is why the last backup is not necessary to be applier before recover database?
    1. www.dbasupport.com
    2. www.dbforums.com
    3. www.itpub.net
    4. www.csdn.net
    5. www.umlchina.com
    6. www.tek-tips.com
    7. www.cnforyou.com
    8. fm365.federal.com.cn
    9. www.programmersheaven.com
    10.http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp
    ligang1000@hotmail.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Shenzhen, China
    Posts
    327
    I think all redo entries you need to do a recovery are still kept in your redo logfiles. Even log switch had occured, the redo logfiles were in inactive status instead of overwritting by LGWR for you probably have several redo log groups.

    The datafile need media recovery is the "last backup" used to do recovery.

    Please correct me if I'm on a wrong way.
    Oracle Certified Master - September, 2003, the Second OCM in China
    *** LOOKING for PART TIME JOB***
    Data Warehouse & Business Intelligence Expert
    MCSE, CCNA, SCJP, SCSA from 1998

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    433
    The datafile need media recovery is the "last backup" used to do recovery.

    Last backup is the existing datafile actually as no cold backup is taken . I guess if the SCN in the damage datafile is still in redo log file , it should be able to be recovered
    1. www.dbasupport.com
    2. www.dbforums.com
    3. www.itpub.net
    4. www.csdn.net
    5. www.umlchina.com
    6. www.tek-tips.com
    7. www.cnforyou.com
    8. fm365.federal.com.cn
    9. www.programmersheaven.com
    10.http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp
    ligang1000@hotmail.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width