Can not login to database as local connetion as not oracle user - Page 3
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: Can not login to database as local connetion as not oracle user

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    The issue here could be the load on this system might be different to the others. The applications that run on this system might be different.

    If you want to solve the issue, then you got to try first and find out whether you can solve. If successful then spend your time on thinking and contemplating. Its not worth the time of us to provide you any suggestions when you are not ready to test them out!

    This is my personal opinion on reading the entire thread once again. Don't think that we are not willing to help. If we need to help you for no cost, then you have to provide us with some test feedbacks. Then only we can eliminate to possibilities.

    GOOD LUCK!

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  2. #22
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    14
    I think I provided all the test result. Please let me know which test results you eant.

    Thanks
    Vivek

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Can you answer the following:

    1. Are you trying to connect to a remote server or is
    the db on the same server?

    2. IF the db on the same server, did you try increasing the
    semaphore limits, reboot the server and then restart the
    db and then try?

    3. What was the result of PANDO's suggestion?

    4. Can you tnsping servicename?

    5*. Last call the oraenv and set the environment variable
    and try again? In my opinion, its the environment
    variable that causeing all the pains. Recheck with
    the same server and set. Don't compare with the other
    servers as the path might be different from this
    installation.


    -Sam

    [Edited by sambavan on 10-10-2002 at 03:44 PM]
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  4. #24
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    14
    1. Db is on the same server.
    2. increase semesphoe limit. I didn't tried but how much I should increase? if this value is less then how come i am able to login using oracle unix account.

    3.TWO_TASK value is blank.
    4.Yes I can tnsping service name.
    5. I tried oraenv. Still no luck.

    Although I have something new to add:
    1. I upgraded the oracle to 8.1.7.4 from 8.1.7.0.
    2. My oracle software is installed on /opt/oracle directory.
    Which is linked to oracle.
    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root other 11 Sep 30 10:42 oracle -> /opt/oracle

    cd /opt
    ========
    $drwxr-xr-x 5 oracle dba 512 Oct 9 20:39 oracle


    df -k
    ======
    /dev/md/dsk/d70 11207576 9766135 1329366 89% /opt

    Does anythingh look suspicious ? Somehow I feel that another unix user does not have permission to create sepashpore for local connection.

    Thanks
    Vivek


  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    14

    Smile

    Thank GOD Problem is solved.

    I was setting my ORACLE_HOME as
    /opt/oracle/product/8.1.7 instead of /oracle/product/8.1.7
    (In unix when I say cd /oracle it goes to /opt/oracle becasue there is a link>>>

    lrwxrwxrwx 1 root other 11 Sep 30 10:42 oracle -> /opt/oracle


    But with old oracleHOME I am able to connect to database with servicename attached.

    Vivek

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Wasn't the very first suggestion (Shestakov's) you've got in this thread about ORACLE_HOME and ORACLE_SID? To which you've responded with:
    Originally posted by vdeo
    I have set all the variables correct. I am sure thats not the problem.
    So, never be sure of anything untill you try/check/recheck it.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    14
    But Still I have my old oracle_home in listener.ora and oratab files.

    With Old ORACLE_HOME how I was able to connect to database with service name ?

    Vivek

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    As long as you have configured your ORACLE_HOME to the right directory path where it can find the executables, it will work.

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width