SYS and SYSTEM Passwords for production and test databases
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: SYS and SYSTEM Passwords for production and test databases

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    9

    Exclamation

    Hi all,

    I have a question, probably a silly one for all the experienced Oracle DBA's but i am novice so forgive me if i asked a silly question. I just entered the world of oracle database administration from Ingres (????).

    My question is "Do we have to have the same passwords for SYSTEM and SYS for both production and test database, when we are replicating a database from archive logs?. I am asking this because, we are actually applying the archive logs from the production database to the test database on an hourly basis. so does it require the passwords of test database SYS and SYSTEM be the same as production database SYS and SYSTEM or can they be different".

    Please advice and thank you in advance for the help.
    sreenivas sampat

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    they dont have to be the same

    I wonder how are you applying logs in a replication environment using Oracle Replication option? Or you are using SharedPlex?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    No need to be the same passwords for replication/applying logs. I don't know howz your setup for this process, Worst case you might need to give the hard coded passwords (can be different from one machine to another) in the script you use to maintain, manage and apply your archive logs from one machine to another.
    Reddy,Sam

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    9

    SYS and SYSTEM Passwords for production and test databases

    Here is the process which we are following.
    1) We are receiving the archive logs through a 3rd party ftp software (FASTCOPY) then on an hourly basis we are moving them into the archive log destination directory.
    2) Then we are shutting down the database and starting it in nomount state.
    3) once it is in nomount state we are issuing the command "alter database mount standby database" and then issuing the command "recover standby database" with AUTO.
    4) Once the applying of the logs are done we are altering the database to open read only.

    So basically it is not replication but applying of logs from production to the test machine.

    Thank you
    sreenivas sampat

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    You donot need passwords to be same for this process... All that matters is changes to primary db contorl file which reflects in standby db control file...
    Reddy,Sam

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    9
    Thanks sam,
    sreenivas sampat

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    Originally posted by srinivas99
    So basically it is not replication but applying of logs from production to the test machine.
    It's "Standby Database".


    Sanjay

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width