ORA-08103?????
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ORA-08103?????

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    16
    Hi All,

    When I try to access a table in my database I get this message ORA-08103 object does not exist. But I can describe this table and future after gettin this problem I checked my alertlog and found that the there was an error for disk i/o for the disk being full, does this caused to corrupt my table , I had no other to go than restoring the previous days backup. I really dunno why I was not able to do anything with that table after the server disk got full!!!!!!!!!!!

    Regards,
    Sudhakar

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    If disk I/O is the cause then you would not be able to access other objects as well.Even i faced the same problem.
    But i was not even able to do even describe command.

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    16
    Yes thats my doubt, I was able to use other tables as usual only this particular table kept on giving ORA-08103 error whenever I try to do any operations with it other than the describe command. Is it so that this table got corrupted due to disk i/o problem is there any way of bringing the table back????

    Rgds,
    Sudhakar






  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    You can do it using logminer...but i not sure how to do it.

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    42
    Hi,

    DESC command of sqlplus works very differently from sql

    So atleast I don't rely on desc.desc mainly contacts data dictionary info rather than accessing the object.

    Now in your case the Data-dictionary info is intact
    Some how the link between the object_info and object(in your case table) is broken...(may be due to I/O problem
    you faced).Now what is the exact message in alert log

    Paste it to me please


    GOOD LUCK
    In GOD I find everything

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    16
    This is the message in the alert log after which I get this error ORA-08103 whenever I tried to access a particular table,


    Mon Sep 30 12:10:13 2002
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 292
    Current log# 2 seq# 292 mem# 0: E:\ORANT\DATABASE\LOGWMS2.ORA
    Mon Sep 30 17:38:02 2002
    Errors in file E:\orant\rdbms80\trace\ORA00302.TRC:
    ORA-19502: write error on file "E:\ORANT\DATABASE\USR1WMS.ORA", blockno 1010522 (blocksize=4096)
    ORA-27072: skgfdisp: I/O error
    OSD-04008: WriteFile() failure, unable to write to file
    O/S-Error: (OS 112) There is not enough space on the disk.

    Mon Sep 30 18:14:45 2002
    Errors in file E:\orant\rdbms80\trace\ORA00279.TRC:
    ORA-19502: write error on file "E:\ORANT\DATABASE\USR1WMS.ORA", blockno 1010522 (blocksize=4096)
    ORA-27072: skgfdisp: I/O error
    OSD-04008: WriteFile() failure, unable to write to file
    O/S-Error: (OS 112) There is not enough space on the disk.

    Rgds,
    Sudhakar

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    56

    Red face

    So, now, whats the status??
    Rama

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    42
    First check you are accessing the right object.IF you are sure about that
    Now you contact Data dictionary info

    connect as sys
    select block_id from dba_extents where segment_name= and block_id=

    The result of this query you inform us.

    Cheers
    In GOD I find everything

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    42
    I think the meta characters are lessthan sign is not allowed
    for this forum

    segment_name=your table_name

    block_id=block-id shown in trace-file

    if 0 rows are returned then run the query

    select segment_name from dba_extents where block-id=1010522

    In any case please let us know

    GOOD LUCK
    In GOD I find everything

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    16
    Thanks for ur dedicating the time and patience to reply my problem, but I cannot provide the info u had requested since I had replaced the database with the lastest dump and before doing this I backed up the database with was having this table problem after which I import this corrupted data in another machine to find that the corrupted table had no longer any rows and all operations were able to be done on it. I had no time to explore the possibilities of the problem cos it affected the live transactions!!!!!!!!!
    Once again thanx all.

    Rgds,
    Sudhakar

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width