Weirdness on Export
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Weirdness on Export

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC, USA
    Posts
    48

    Angry

    Export jobs are filling a volume that is NOT referenced in the script anywhere. The scripts reside on /lvo295 but when they run they are "mysteriously" filling up /lvo100. There is no physical export files written to /lvo100 at all.

    The jobs use the space (/lvo100) like tmp, before it was not noticed because i guess the size was sufficient to hold whatever it was writing, but now it is not, so it fills the volume and the jobs have to be cancelled thereby causing nightly exports to fail.

    Any clues? Scripts is below.

    (1) exp_dpr1.sh
    sundb01:/lvo295/dpr1/scripts >more exp_dpr1.sh
    #!/usr/bin/ksh
    #
    #Revisions
    DATE=$(date +%Y%m%d%H%M)
    . ./.profile
    cd /arlogs
    exp userid=***** buffer=500000 full=y compress=y indexes=y \
    file=/lvo195/dpr1/exp/exp_dpr1$DATE.dmp \
    log=/lvo195/dpr1/exp/exp_dpr1$DATE.log \
    rows=y grants=y direct=y consistent=y
    gzip /lvo195/dpr1/exp/exp_dpr1$DATE.dmp


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    3,131
    Is this a cron job?
    Can you run it manually using the same parfile? If so does it fail or write to the wrong dir?

    Try it with rows=N, that should only take a few seconds.

    MH
    I remember when this place was cool.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    342
    Maybe gzip uses your /lvo10 as a temporary space while compressing your .dmp file ?


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    725
    check where your oracle tmpdir is.

    echo $TMPDIR
    Once you have eliminated all of the impossible,
    whatever remains however improbable,
    must be true.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC, USA
    Posts
    48

    Weirdness on export

    my $tmpdir is tmp. a few minutes after i kill the export job the space that is used(in bad location), gets freed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC, USA
    Posts
    48

    Weirdness on export

    I took out compress parameter=y and still occurs. its doesn't event get to gzip command, but will remove and retry. I am running manually to recreate incident. no longer in cron

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC, USA
    Posts
    48

    Weirdness on export

    Does it when I do exp interactively and not with the script also.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC, USA
    Posts
    48

    Weirdness on export

    ticket opened with oracle and Sun, no resolution as yet, will try to initiate full backup from second node in OPS to see if that is a work around. initiating full export from first node is causing weirdness

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    291
    Hi
    I think u r running gzip from /lvo295. Try executing this script running gzip from /lo195/dpr1/exp directory.
    B'coz, gzip won't accept other than your PWD. This might solve your problem.
    I just now tried on my system with the same, it worked out in this way.

    Guys, please correct me if i'm wrong.


    Thanks


    (1) exp_dpr1.sh
    sundb01:/lvo295/dpr1/scripts >more exp_dpr1.sh
    #!/usr/bin/ksh
    #
    #Revisions
    DATE=$(date +%Y%m%d%H%M)
    . ./.profile
    cd /arlogs
    exp userid=***** buffer=500000 full=y compress=y indexes=y \
    file=/lvo195/dpr1/exp/exp_dpr1$DATE.dmp \
    log=/lvo195/dpr1/exp/exp_dpr1$DATE.log \
    rows=y grants=y direct=y consistent=y
    cd /lvo195/dpr1/exp
    gzip exp_dpr1$DATE.dmp

    PNRDBA

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, NC, USA
    Posts
    48

    Weirdness on export

    i broke it down to the command line export and eliminated the gzip altogether and it still happened... then i changed it to initiate the full export from the second node (second server) in our OPS environment. it doesn't fill up the file system when initiated from second node. neither Sun nor Oracle can explain so far.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width