connect as sysdba
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: connect as sysdba

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    305
    Hi Friends

    I have created one user and I have given only the create session PRIVILEGE and there is no other PRIVILEGE. But when I connect to that user as sysdba I am able to connect as well as I can access all the data dictionary. I wanted to know how to restrict this thing.

    Please tell me as soon as possible.

    Thanks in advance
    Shailendra

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    763
    Are you sure? Have you tried to query any dba_ table.

    Cheers

    Angel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    763
    Excuse me I haven't read correctl your question. Of course if you can connect as sysdba, then all the catalog is visible for you. Could you post how have you created the user, grants, privilegies ..?

    Cheers

    Angel

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    305
    I am writing the command which I had executed

    Create user [user_name] identified by [passowrd] default tablespace [tablespace_name];

    grant create session to [user_name];

    conn [user_name]/[password] as sysdba;

    it is connected and showing all the internal tables.
    Now I want to restrict it. How do I?

    Thanks
    Shailendra

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    763
    Just revoke the sysdba privilege.

    Cheers

    Angel

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    305
    Hi

    I have revoke the sysdba privilege from that user but it is still not working, I can see all the tables owned by the system.

    I need more suggestion on that
    Thanks
    Shailendra

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    I think you are using OS authentication.
    On Unix if you are logging in as osuser who is in dba group, you can connect "as sysdba" using any db user.

    Try this..
    Logout from OS and login as osuser who is not in dba group.
    Then try connecting "as sysdba" for the db user. I am sure you will get insufficient privilege error.

    Sanjay

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    On NT/2000 the group is ORA_DBA

    Sanjay

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Posts
    25

    Unhappy

    Hi friends..

    How we can check in WIN-NT where a Windows NT User who have login and in oracle that login user is in DBA_GROUP...


    Thanks

    Rajeev

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width