Can't start my DB
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Can't start my DB

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    2

    Exclamation

    We have had a disk data coruption the other day. We fixed that, but when I try to start my oracle DB with I get this message:
    -------------------------------------------
    ORACLE instance started.

    Total System Global Area 1839236020 bytes
    Fixed Size 70580 bytes
    Variable Size 480731136 bytes
    Database Buffers 1358356480 bytes
    Redo Buffers 77824 bytes
    Database mounted.
    ORA-00704: bootstrap process failure
    ORA-00604: error occurred at recursive SQL level 1
    ORA-08103: object no longer exists
    ------------------------------------------------------
    I have no backup of this DB. Can someone please tell me what can cause those errors and how can I fix it and how can I start my DB. I can mount it , but when I try to open it there is an error.

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Bangalore, India
    Posts
    405
    Your data dictionary got corrupted. I have no idea of recovering it without a proper backup. Lets wait for other guru's answers
    -nagarjuna

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    2
    If data dictionary is corrupted, can my data be saved in any way?

    Thanks in advance

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Shutdown with abort, then clean up all OS structures used by the instance: semaphores etc.

    Startup then. If it doesn't help and no backup is present, contact Oracle support.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    462
    This is something serious . log an iTAR in metalink from Oracle Support .
    siva prakash
    DBA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Louisville KY
    Posts
    295
    You said you had disk corruption. Do you know which file was corrupted?

    Also, were you running in archivelog mode?

    If you were not running in archivelog mode, I don't think there is anything you can do if you have no backup.

    Given archivelog mode.

    If it was not the system, there is some hope.
    If it wasn't the system tablespace/datafile the following sequence might work.

    Crash the database (shutdown abort and/or power down the server without doing a shutdown.)

    do a startup mount of the database.
    vary the datafile that was corrupted offline
    alter the database open.

    You might have to do a 'startup nomount'. It depends on your release, platform, config settings, which datafile was corrupted and what cheek your tongue is in.
    Joseph R.P. Maloney, CSP,CDP,CCP
    'The answer is 42'

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width