best way to clone database from NT to Unix
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: best way to clone database from NT to Unix

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    267

    Angry

    I am just looking for best and fast method to clone the database from NT to UNIX . I can't use backup control file and copy data files , since it is different OS . I can't use transportable tablespaces for the same reason . I got around 500 tables in 5 schemas . Even export/import doesn't work ,since i have to copy export file to new OS ..looking for solution ..
    Raghu

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Düsseldorf, Germany.
    Posts
    588
    Originally posted by raghud
    Even export/import doesn't work
    ???

    since i have to copy export file to new
    OS ..looking for solution ..
    1. U can make export, database which is on NT from NT machine

    2. and then perform IMP from NT machine into UNIX database Schema, so there is no OS problem in between. Hope u able to connect to database which is on UNIX m/c from NT m/c

    It should work.. only take care about versions for two databases


    Sameer


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    83
    Hello,

    I think that the only way to do that is to use export/import utilities.
    I didn't understand why you said : 'Even export/import doesn't work ,since i have to copy export file to new OS '


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    267
    Since my database is big . Easy way to import is , copy the file to local machine , where DB is running and start importing . Other wise I have to connect to Unix machine from nt client and have to perform import . MY DB size is 200 GB .
    Raghu

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    267
    Since it is 200 GB Database I have to do export/import several times . I am looking for good way
    Raghu

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Export/import is the only option to switch platforms.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Originally posted by raghud
    Since it is 200 GB Database I have to do export/import several times.
    Why would you need to perform export/import several times? Once will be more than enough IMHO! But it will probably take a hell lot of a time to import 200GB database....
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,021
    It would be a lot easier to stay within the same platform i.e.
    either go unix to unix or nt to nt. I would only go from nt to unix if it was a once shot deal in your case. Did you mean that your export is 200GB? You could do the export, zip the file, ftp it to unix, do a gunzip, and then import. This will shrink the size of the file that you are sending via ftp.

    You should do 5 exports, one for each schema. This should make each export file smaller. I think that there is a way to make exports span over multiple files, but I haven't done that myself. and make sure that you take the database out of archive log during the import, have plenty of rollback, and a large temp tablespace.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Originally posted by gandolf989
    You should do 5 exports, one for each schema. This should make each export file smaller.
    I don't see any point in doing so. Why not simply perform full database export? Mind you, there are things that are exported in FULL mode but not in USER mode - what about those?. Cloning a database means creating an exact replica of the database, and the only way to do this (while switching the platform) is by doing FULL exp/imp.

    Regarding the size of the dump file: as gandolf989 allready pointed out, you can make export dumping data into many smaller files.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    132
    This is the syntax send to a compressed file using pipes. I do this often.
    To export to a compressed file:
    /etc/mknod pipename p
    compress < pipename > newfilename.Z &
    exp / file=pipename

    To import from a compressed file:
    /etc/mknod pipename p
    uncompress < newfilename.Z > pipename &
    imp / file=pipename
    rm -f pipename

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width