Shutdown
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Shutdown

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    267
    hi,
    why shutdown transactional or shutdown immediate doesn't work when u are doing transaction againes a table owned by sys.
    regards
    sonia

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    Shutdown transactional will not shutdown the database untill all the active transactions are complete.

    Shutdown immediate will will shutdown the database immediately by rolling back all the active transaction.

    In ur case SHUTDOWN IMMEDIATE should work

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Sure it works, regardless of whether transactions are active in schema SYS or any other schema.

    As anandkl pointed out, TRANSACTIONAL will wait untill all current transactions are closed before proceding with shutdown operations, while IMMEDIATE will simply roll back any active transactions (including those in SYS's schema) and close the database.

    If you are experienceing any other behaviour you must be hitting some bug.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    267
    doesn't work guys,
    Just create an object in sys schema and update the rows....don't commit....

    open another window and issue shutdown immediate......
    it doesn't works


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    hm why SYS?

    it works otherwise we wouldnt be able to do backup for years

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Originally posted by Sonia
    Just create an object in sys schema and update the rows....don't commit....

    open another window and issue shutdown immediate......
    it doesn't works
    Don't know about you, but it works on my databases. I've tried it, belive me. As I said, if it doesn't work on your system it must be a bug - contact Oracle Support.

    In which release are you getting this problem?
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Shanghai
    Posts
    433
    Shutdown Immediate will take some time ( to rollback the transaction ) . SOmetime , it takes quite long time , ( It could be a oracle problem) . But anyway , just be patient and It should shutdown after any transaction is rollbacked
    1. www.dbasupport.com
    2. www.dbforums.com
    3. www.itpub.net
    4. www.csdn.net
    5. www.umlchina.com
    6. www.tek-tips.com
    7. www.cnforyou.com
    8. fm365.federal.com.cn
    9. www.programmersheaven.com
    10.http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp
    ligang1000@hotmail.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    267
    hi all,


    Yes it works....but it takes so much of time...i don't know why.....

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Posts
    73

    Talking

    Sonia try to be patient when dealing with Oracle databases.

    App buht jaldi kartee hain
    You cannot succeed if you fear to face challenges.
    MAS
    BE(CS) , OCP 8/8i.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width