ORA-1158, ORA-1503, ORA-1507
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: ORA-1158, ORA-1503, ORA-1507

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    23

    Angry

    I am getting thes messages while trying to recover a database. The drive died and we had to restore to a different box, but we do not have any controlfiles or redo logs. I do have the datafile up to a certain point in. This database was not backed up. I need some help because when I try to create the controlfile it gives me a create controlfile failed error. I am starting the database in a nomount mode and it tells me the database is already mounted and the latest error is ORA-1507 database not mount when I try to backup controlfile to trace. Please help.
    :)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    422
    ORA-01158 database string already mounted
    Cause: Another instance has a database by this name mounted.
    Action: Find which instance is still running. Perhaps you have not lost the
    control files after all.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Posts
    2

    Can you give more detail

    what kind of backup u have (hot/cold).
    how many instance are running on the new box.
    open alert log file and find out what is the error when creating a controlfile.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    SC
    Posts
    23
    We lost the hard drives and we had to restore from backup tapes to another box. We have tapes that have hot backups. We do not have the correct version of the application software. These boxes were last touched in 2000. We have restored to the box and the Oracle service is running. If I stop the service and try to start up nomount, I get a TNS packet writer error. So I try to start nomount with a specified file and then I get these errors. Please help.
    :)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    Brazil
    Posts
    282


    connect as sysdba

    shutdown abort

    startup mount and recover


    F.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2000
    Location
    CA
    Posts
    317
    If you don't have a control file. Then you should create one first.

    Then try recovering it.
    Thanks
    Kishore Kumar

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width