FULL IMPORT
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: FULL IMPORT

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    163
    Hi,

    *** Trying to Import FULL export *****
    ==========================

    I have created a new database.

    Now I have created all required tablespaces that was there in my previous database, where from export has been taken.

    Now If I will try to import with FULL=Y then ......

    1. It will import all schema objects..... IS THAT CORRECT ???

    2. What will happen to SYSTEM schema. New database has already a system schema and Export dump also has an old System schema. ..... WHAT WILL HAPPEN IN THIS CASE???

    I will appreciate ur time spent for my query.

    Thanks
    Vis

    Nwcomer
    Student

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    Lincolnshire, IL
    Posts
    203

    Thumbs up

    Hi Newcomer,
    when you take a full export dump, the system schema objects are excluded from the export. means there is no System Schema object into your full export dump. Go ahead with your dump for full import without any hesitation.
    Sandy
    "Greatest Rewards come only with Greatest Commitments!"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    163
    Hey,

    System schema will also be exported.

    See below:

    exp SYSTEM/password FULL=y FILE=dba.dmp GRANTS=y ROWS=y


    Export Messages

    Export: Release 9.0.1.0.0 - Production on Mon Mar 19 19:01:59 2001

    (c) Copyright 2001 Oracle Corporation. All rights reserved.


    Connected to: Oracle9i Enterprise Edition Release 9.0.1.0.0 - Production
    With the Partitioning option
    JServer Release 9.0.1.0.0 - Production
    Export done in WE8DEC character set and AL16UTF16 NCHAR character set

    About to export the entire database ...
    . exporting tablespace definitions
    . exporting profiles
    . exporting user definitions
    . exporting roles
    . exporting resource costs
    . exporting rollback segment definitions
    . exporting database links
    . exporting sequence numbers
    . exporting directory aliases
    . exporting context namespaces
    . exporting foreign function library names
    . exporting object type definitions
    . exporting system procedural objects and actions
    . exporting pre-schema procedural objects and actions
    . exporting cluster definitions
    . about to export SYSTEM's tables via Conventional Path ...
    . . exporting table AQ$_INTERNET_AGENTS 0 rows exported


    is anybody else can answer my doubt?

    Thanks

    Vis
    Nwcomer
    Student

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Up s**t creek
    Posts
    1,525
    If you use the FROMUSER parameter with a list of usernames only those users will be imported.

    Do not specify the TOUSER parameter.

    Regards
    Jim
    Oracle Certified Professional
    "Build your reputation by helping other people build theirs."

    "Sarcasm may be the lowest form of wit but its still funny"

    Click HERE to vist my website!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    163
    hello Jovery,

    I don't want to import my data using USER option. That is surely possibe.

    My question was different, what will happen with my new database System schema where I am iporting (FULL) data using

    imp userid=<> file=<> FULL=Y

    because I have taken FULL export before , that also contents System schema of my previous database.

    Thanks
    Vis
    Nwcomer
    Student

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    131
    Hi Newcomer,

    If you import from the full export of your old database and if you specify the parameter IGNORE=Y then it will overwrite you existing SYSTEM schema and at the time of overwriting it will ignore the error. The most important thing during this operation is the password of your SYSTEM user will be also replaced with your old database SYSTEM user password.

    Just Try it.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    144
    Yes it will import all objects for all schemas. If you use ignore=y then it skips (does not overwrite)the object creation and attempts to insert the data.

    http://doc.oracle.com/cd_a91034/DOC/...02.htm#1005473

    If the tables have a unique index or constraint then duplicate data errors out. If there is no unique constraint on those tables then you may get duplicate rows.

    As for the system schema, the same applies. I did this this morning on Oracle 9.0.1.3 so I am fairly sure of this.

    Yes your system password after import will be the same as the password on your source database.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width