ARCH Process and ALERT Log
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ARCH Process and ALERT Log

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Düsseldorf, Germany.
    Posts
    588

    Question

    Hello,

    My database is running in ARCHIVELOG mode. I have set parameter log_archive_start to TRUE for automatic archiving of redolog files. It works fine

    But sometimes I get error in my ALERT log file saying

    ARC0: Failed to archive log# 1 seq# nNumber

    or

    ARC1: Failed to archive log# 1 seq# nNumber

    But I also get

    ARC0: Beginning to archive log# 2 seq# 386
    Mon Jul 29 16:55:53 2002
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 388
    Current log# 1 seq# 388 mem# 0: D:\ORACLE\ORADATA\ORCL\REDO01.LOG
    Mon Jul 29 16:55:53 2002
    ARC0: Completed archiving log# 2 seq# 386

    and same for ARC1 also

    Will anybody let me know ... why my ARCH process fails in between?

    1. How do I findout how many ARCH processes are running?
    2. How to start multiple ARCH process?


    Thanks

    Sameer

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    How many redo log groups do you have ?
    Try addding one or two more log groups to avoid contention.

    Sanjay

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Posts
    175
    Hi,

    Are your redo logs and Archive logs on the same disk? If so move them to seperate disks.
    I think the parameter log_archive_max_processes can be used to define more Arch processes (but I would check this beofre setting it).

    If your on Unix you can see how many arch processes are running by entering the following at the command line...

    ps -ef |grep arc

    These are information messages and as long as they're followed by a 'Completed Archiving' message for that log file should be OK. Look at ways of tuning the Arc process. (you could try http://www.ixora.com.au/tips/tuning/archiver.htm for info)

    Regards
    Moff.

    [Edited by moff on 07-30-2002 at 05:53 AM]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Düsseldorf, Germany.
    Posts
    588
    Thanks for replies..

    Sanjay: I have three logfiles.. Do you mean .. I should try adding a member to log group or adding a new logfile?

    Moff: Yes.. My redo logs and Archive logs are on the same disk..

    Well.. This is not a PROD database.. so don't wonder why these are on the same disks..

    I will try relocating ARCH logs on different drive.

    Thanks

    Sameer

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,587
    Since you have 3 loggruops you don't need to add any more.(well you can always ) but i don't think that's necessary.
    Destination of arch files.
    try to reduce the time of redo log switching by increasing the size of redo logfiles, on a default db creation it's 1mb each ,make it 10mb each or so.
    you don't need to create any aditional arc processes as the lgwr automatically starts one if necesary but you can do it if you want to.
    Tarry Singh
    I'm a JOLE(JavaOracleLinuxEnthusiast)
    TarryBlogging
    --- Everything was meant to be---

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    422
    Sou you have (at least) two archive processes: ARC0, ARC1.

    I noticed that sometimes two archive processes are competing for same log file.

    Can you find in alert log, when one of those two (for instance: ARC0) fails, somewhere near you can have message that other (ARC1) succesfully archived the same log sequence number.

    If so, this is 'normal'
    Well, nothing to really worry about, i think. Anyway, you can restart archiver, then you should have only one.

    Tomaz

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Düsseldorf, Germany.
    Posts
    588

    Smile

    Hey.. You are right...

    See below

    Thu Jul 18 11:36:49 2002
    ARC1: Beginning to archive log# 2 seq# 230
    Thu Jul 18 11:36:51 2002
    Thread 1 advanced to log sequence 232
    Current log# 1 seq# 232 mem# 0: D:\ORACLE\ORADATA\ORCL\REDO01.LOG
    Thu Jul 18 11:36:51 2002
    ARC0: Beginning to archive log# 2 seq# 230
    ARC0: Failed to archive log# 2 seq# 230
    ARC0: Beginning to archive log# 3 seq# 231
    Thu Jul 18 11:36:51 2002
    ARC1: Completed archiving log# 2 seq# 230
    ARC1: Beginning to archive log# 3 seq# 231
    ARC1: Failed to archive log# 3 seq# 231


    ARC1 has started archiving before ARC0 (log# 2 seq# 230) so ARC0 fails..

    later ARC0 starts archiving log# 3 seq# 231 before ARC1, then ARC1 fails to archive (log# 3 seq# 231)

    Thanks.. But then why these processes doesn't know which log has already archived or in the process of getting ARChed by other archiver?

    Thanks

    Sameer

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    422
    I don't know.
    Probably ARC1 doesn't know that ARC0 is doing this log until it's finished, and just tries.
    But it looks stupid...

    Everything I found on metalink was explanation, that one is manually issued with 'alter system archive log current'.
    But in my case it wasn't it. Nor in yours, i guess.

    I can't really remember now, if restarting just archiver helps, or database should be rebounced. Try.

    Have fun,
    Tomaz

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    Does any of your hotbackup script issue-

    ALTER SYSTEM ARCHIVE LOG ALL;

    ?


    Sanjay

  10. #10
    Originally posted by TomazZ
    I don't know.
    Probably ARC1 doesn't know that ARC0 is doing this log until it's finished, and just tries.
    But it looks stupid...

    Everything I found on metalink was explanation, that one is manually issued with 'alter system archive log current'.
    But in my case it wasn't it. Nor in yours, i guess.

    I can't really remember now, if restarting just archiver helps, or database should be rebounced. Try.

    Have fun,
    Tomaz
    hi,
    look at asktom.oracle.com, and you will know the answer, i post his words here: not his original words:
    Just as tomazz said, one archiver process doesnot know the others is process(archiving) this log file, so there is error message like that, in fact, this is just a harmless warning, in 9i , it is improved.
    www.cnoug.org

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width