MEMORY I/O CONTENTION ON ORACLE 9I - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 31

Thread: MEMORY I/O CONTENTION ON ORACLE 9I

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    474
    Jeff and Pando,

    That's what I don't understand either. All I know is that when Linux doesn't start it take only 110M of RAM, after about one day, it goes up to 630M of ram and this is a new database, it has very few processes to it. and the memory never go down so that my database run really slow.
    that's what I am confused and don't know what's going on.



    [Edited by ashley75 on 07-29-2002 at 06:02 PM]

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    and that's why I asked with what command are you using to determine that?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    474
    Pando,

    I used the TOP command

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    well that's SHARED segment, it's not what Oracle is using, it is shared memory segments


  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    474
    Pando,

    so please tell me what I need to do???

    the box does not have anything running on there beside Oracle

    Below is the snapshot of what I am tlaking about


    48 processes: 46 sleeping, 2 running, 0 zombie, 0 stopped
    CPU states: 0.0% user, 0.1% system, 0.0% nice, 99.8% idle
    Mem: 643708K av, 253288K used, 390420K free, 0K shrd, 44100K buff
    Swap: 1518100K av, 0K used, 1518100K free 165240K cached

    This is what happened after I bounce the databse an hour ago. and the amount of memory will increase from now till tomorow.

    I am confused. please help me






    [Edited by ashley75 on 07-29-2002 at 06:12 PM]

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    nothing there is nothing needed to do, it's how it works and it does NOT mean Oracle is using that memory
    It's how Linux works, it tries to cache everything in memory when it can

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    474
    Pando,

    thanks again for all of the advise, but the database is not running as fast as I expect and the performance get worst if someone update something in the database. Below is the memory stats I got this morning:

    CPU states: 0.0% user, 0.3% system, 0.0% nice, 99.6% idle
    Mem: 643708K av, 564428K used, 79280K free, 0K shrd, 174416K buff
    Swap: 1518100K av, 0K used, 1518100K free 223064K cached


    Today, it goes up to 560M and noone have done anything to the database yet.

    I am sorry to be annoyed but I like to understand what's going on with this box.

    Thanks




  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by ashley75

    thanks again for all of the advise, but the database is not running as fast as I expect and the performance get worst if someone update something in the database. Below is the memory stats I got this morning:
    Ah, now we come to the real problem. The database is slow, how do I tune it?

    Find out where your bottlenecks are. Look at your disks, are they at 100%. What does your CPU say? What does vmstat say? Are only some queries slow? Which ones?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Posts
    126
    Have you checked the alert.log file? Do you see any ORA- message? There is a bug related to memory and process about Oracle 9i R2. You might need to apply patch if that is the causation of the server problem.

    Susan

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    474
    Jeff,

    Below is the stat of my system bottleneck:

    null event 1 0 1 1
    pmon timer 0 1 1
    smon timer 0 1 1
    rdbms ipc message 0 4 4

    The CPU is idle or only being used a little not much.

    I would say, not only certain query, seem like for all of query the users run.


    srlhome00
    Could you please refer me to the bug number as you mentioned???

    thanks











Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width