Multiple WEB applications on single Oracle9iAS
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Multiple WEB applications on single Oracle9iAS

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    301
    Hi,

    We have installed Oracle9iAS and Oracle8.1.5 database running on different
    servers and successful in running one web application.
    I want to know the following:
    1. Is it possible to have another web application on the same Application
    server.
    2. If yes then what are the files in which the configuration should be done.
    3. If no then is there any workaround for this problem.

    Thanks.
    Vijay.
    Say No To Plastics

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    763
    Hi Vijay,

    Your answers:

    1. Yes
    2. You have to add in your formsweb.cfg one entry for each application. For example we have two application running in the same Application Server and in the formsweb.cfg we have:

    [sifer]
    baseHTML=sifer.htm
    baseHTMLJinitiator=siferjini.htm
    baseHTMLie=siferie.htm
    serverURL=/servlet/oracle.forms.servlet.ListenerServlet
    envFile=d:\oracle\isuitesdev\forms60\server\sifer.env
    workingDirectory=d:\sifer
    width=800
    height=600
    align=center
    colorScheme=teal
    splashScreen=d:\icons\X_e24.gif
    background=d:\icons\X_e24.gif
    logo=no
    otherparams=useSDI=yes
    archive=f60all.jar,sifer.jar,CalendarWidget.jar
    archive_jini=f60all_jinit.jar,sifer.jar,CalendarWidget.jar
    imagebase=CodeBase
    serverApp=sifer.dat
    separateFrame=True
    form=kk.fmx
    ;
    [sota]
    baseHTML=sota.htm
    baseHTMLJinitiator=sotajini.htm
    baseHTMLie=sotaie.htm
    serverURL=/servlet/oracle.forms.servlet.ListenerServlet
    envFile=d:\oracle\isuitesdev\forms60\server\sota.env
    workingDirectory=d:\sota
    width=800
    height=700
    align=center
    colorScheme=blue
    logo=no
    otherparams=useSDI=yes
    archive=f60all.jar,sifer.jar,CalendarWidget.jar
    archive_jini=f60all_jinit.jar,sifer.jar,CalendarWidget.jar
    imagebase=CodeBase
    serverApp=sota.dat
    separateFrame=True
    form=stprncpl.fmx

    For the two applications. Note that between each application the marks [] are separated by ;

    After this logically you have to configure each application to work correctly.

    Hope that helps

    Angel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    301
    Hi Angel,

    Thanx for your reply.

    Can you please throw some light on your quote:
    "After this logically you have to configure each application to work correctly"

    After doing these changes, do I need to modify any other configuration file.

    Thanks for your great help.

    Vijay.
    Say No To Plastics

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    763
    Yes,

    You have to create to files:

    In my case is sota.env and sifer.env and modify the BASE_HTML files. If you look my earlier post you will see there are some files: sifer.env, sifer.htm,siferjini.htm,siferie.htm ... and the same for the other application.

    Cheers

    Angel

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    763
    Vijay,

    Sure this documentation will help you too:

    1. 9IAS installation:
    http://technet.oracle.com/docs/produ..._otn/index.htm

    For running Forms/Reports on the web you need at least to install HTTP server or similar (IIS) and Forms/Reports Server

    2. Configuring Forms/Reports on the Web. Read the next notes in metalink:
    125037.1, 93564.1, 93653.1,

    3. For configuring ListenerServlet:

    Next note in metalink: 134128.1

    and next: http://otn.oracle.com/products/forms...nerservlet.pdf

    Cheers

    Angel

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    301
    Hi Angel,

    As per your instructions I did the following:

    I have included the following entry in my FormsWeb.cfg file:
    [pandamyq]
    workingDirectory=d:\pandamyq_web
    envFile=pandamyq.env
    form=login_web.fmx
    ;
    [pandaphq]
    workingDirectory=d:\pandaphq_web
    envFile=pandaphq.env
    form=login_web.fmx

    The PandaMyQ.env file consists of the following:
    # Environment settings for Oracle Forms 6i
    # ----------------------------------------
    # This file is used by the Listener Servlet when starting up
    # Forms runtime processes.
    # The settings in this file override any settings in the
    # environment in which the servlet engine (OC4J or JServ) was started,
    # any settings in the jserv.properties file (wrapper.env directives) if
    # using JServ, and any Oracle variable settings in the Windows registry.
    # If a variable is not set here, but is set in the registry, the registry
    # value will be used.
    #
    PATH=D:\ORACLE\806\bin
    ORACLE_HOME=D:\ORACLE\806
    FORMS60_PATH=d:\pandamyq_web

    The folder d:\pandamyq_web has been created in the QA server.
    In the HTML file the href is given like:
    http://www.pandamyq.ford.com/servlet...onfig=pandamyq
    but the browser does not display anything. It just displays a blank page and
    diplays DONE at the status bar.
    Am I missing something here.

    Thanks.
    Vijay.
    Say No To Plastics

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    763
    Have you tried if it works using cgi?

    For using servlet listener you should configure more file. It is all explained in the document I posted above.

    Cheers

    Angel

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    301
    Hi Angel,

    We have successfully configured the system. Thank you very much for your help.

    I have one more doubt:

    We want to register 2 URL's where in
    both of them will be pointing to the same server.

    Ex:

    ip address of webserver: 19.1.1.19

    when i type the URL

    http://www.one.com/one.html->this should connect to one application and when I type the URL

    http://www.two.com/two.html-> this should connect to another application which is also in the same webserver.

    I have configured the formsweb.cfg in such a way that it listens for 2 separte applications.

    Just wanted to know whether this is possible.

    Thanks.
    Vijay.
    Say No To Plastics

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    763
    If i understood correct, YES it is possible.

    Cheers

    Angel

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    301
    Hi Angel,

    Thanks for your reply.

    How should we register these 2 domains now.

    If I am not wrong then

    both these URL's

    http://www.one.com/one.html should point to say 13.2.2.90 and also
    http://www.two.com/two.html should also point to the same server.

    Is this correct?

    Thanks.
    Vijay.
    Say No To Plastics

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width