how to run Database Configuration Assistant in Linux
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: how to run Database Configuration Assistant in Linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    474
    Hi all,

    Could someone please tell me how to run the database Configuration Assistant in Linux, I am trying to get to the GUI but I don't know which executeable I should run to have the Database Configuration Assistant.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    $ORACLE_HOME/bin/dbca

    DataBase Configuration Assistant

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    Originally posted by ashley75
    Hi all,

    I don't know which executeable

    Thanks
    If you know the executable name in Windows, it is same on other platforms. If its windows its .exe file and its unix platform its an executable shell script. Hope this helps in future to figure out which file to run for a specific utility...
    Reddy,Sam

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    474
    Thanks Pando

    that's what I thought however it's different with NT, what I am trying to get to is I already had the existing database and I want to modify it. I don't see any option for mofidy the existing database. Could you please advise????


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    If you know the executable name in Windows, it is same on other platforms. If its windows its .exe file and its unix platform its an executable shell script. Hope this helps in future to figure out which file to run for a specific utility...
    This is not the case always. In Windows executable names are often suffixed with versions e.g. SVRMGR23, EXP80, ORADIM73 etc.

    Sanjay

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828

    Talking

    Hi Sanjay

    That is not entirely true...depends on the version of oracle..what you said is true for version belwo 8i only...if above 8i or 8i then the excutables names are same..

    regards
    Hrishy


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width