Is there any tool available in 8i to create db
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Is there any tool available in 8i to create db

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    42
    Is there any tool available in oracle 8i to create database in the HP unix. Already 2 databases are runing. i want to create new one for the testing purspose. OR could u provide the complete scripts and steps to follow.
    Oracle

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    2,828

    Talking

    Hi

    You can use DBCA which is a GUI tool for creating databases.The oracele documentation site has an example on how to create the database manually.


    http://otn.oracle.com/docs/products/...ate.htm#999757

    regards
    Hrishy

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    409
    Use Oracle Database Configuration Assistant (DBCA).
    -- Dilip

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    42
    Hi,

    how to run the dbca. since i have to connect the sever thru telnet. from there could u tell me which file to run in the unix prompt . so that i could c the dbca GUI,

    THANX LOT.
    Oracle

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    409
    You can find DBCA in $ORACLE_HOME/bin directory.
    -- Dilip

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2001
    Location
    Maryland, USA
    Posts
    409
    Also this is the best place to start for using DBCA.

    http://download-west.oracle.com/otnd...8/dbcacrea.htm
    -- Dilip

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    42
    thanks dilip. i found the file ' dbassist' . Is this the way to run this file. $ORACLE_HOME/bin/ directory. then ./dbassist
    Oracle

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    42
    as per the 9i/8i document, i am not able to find out the 'dbca' in the $ORACLE_HOME/bin directorty. i could c only the dbassit which seems to relavent. could u help me out. thanks.
    Oracle

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,287
    Originally posted by venkateskg
    Hi,

    how to run the dbca. since i have to connect the sever thru telnet. from there could u tell me which file to run in the unix prompt . so that i could c the dbca GUI,

    THANX LOT.
    If u going to use dbca thru telnet u have to:

    1. descrive DISPLAY variable in ur .profile (or .login) depend from ur shell.
    2. have to start (AS ROOT) xhost + on client mashine.
    NOTE, if ur system has some restrictions for using xWindows sessions from
    remote mashine u have to ask ur sysadmin what u haveto do exactly.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    42
    Thank you very much.
    Oracle

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width