Urgent: Oracle Client installation - Shows multiple Homes
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Urgent: Oracle Client installation - Shows multiple Homes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620

    Angry

    Hi all,

    I am installing 8.1.7.0.0 client on my Win NT workstation. In the Oracle Homes list, it shows old Oracle Homes, which I had de-installed, removed from disk, registry.

    How to keep off those Oracle homes from the list in OUI?

    Secondly, when I try to install OEM tuning and diagnostic packs, it says that in another Oracle Home, they are already installed and then does not allow me to install in the new Oracle Home, where I want.

    Any solution to this?

    Thanks in Adv.


    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    I love Unix...
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620
    Originally posted by marist89
    I love Unix...
    hi Jeff,

    I WAS also a Unix lover.
    Sometimes, you don't get what you love.

    Am I right Jeff?

    [/B][/QUOTE]
    [/B][/QUOTE]
    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Originally posted by samdba
    Originally posted by marist89
    I love Unix...
    hi Jeff,

    I WAS also a Unix lover.
    Sometimes, you don't get what you love.

    Am I right Jeff?

    [/B][/QUOTE]
    [/B][/QUOTE]
    You always have the option of turning it down....
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620
    You always have the option of turning it down.... [/B][/QUOTE]

    I think, client installation will always be on Windows based computer, so here Unix won't help. What do you use for Client installation Windows or Unix?

    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    If previous Oracle homes were removed from the registry, the Oracle Home Selector wouldn't show any Oracle homes.

    You can create another Oracle home repository on your NT workstation. Name it Ora817_home so you know which home your system is "pointing" to. When the installer starts up, one of the first windows has you set the home location. That is when you can define the new home.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620
    Hi Stecal,

    I learned that old ORACLE_HOME names are stored in file OracleHomesList.ser under c:\program files\oracle\inventory\contents folder in encrypted form. You can't just easily remove it from this file.

    Now, I am trying with newly created ORACLE_HOME but when I try to install OEM products, it gives me message that they are already installed in old Oracle home in spite of the fact that nothing is there in old oracle home and I have removed everything from old homes.

    This is my present problem.

    Pl. some solution...

    Thanks,
    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    267
    If you don't want all previously installed homes ..Just delete dir's and at start button ..RUn type command regedit ..Under regedit ..Localmachine/softwares/oracle/homes..

    Select and hit delete button ..Reboot the workstation ..that's it
    Raghu

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Originally posted by samdba
    You always have the option of turning it down....
    What do you use for Client installation Windows or Unix?

    [/B][/QUOTE]
    I don't do windoz...
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620
    Hi Raghu,

    I infact removed the whole Oracle tree from softwares in regedit.

    Still gives problem.

    Thanks,
    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width