export into a different tablespace
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: export into a different tablespace

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    Hi friends,
    I have tables in user1 tablespace and i want to move it into a different database on to a new tablespace user2...

    Please help me on this....

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    Use ALTER TABLE MOVE clause if its 8i

    http://www.dbasupport.com/forums/sho...threadid=25992
    Reddy,Sam

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    SAN FRANCISCO, CA
    Posts
    306
    yes what sreddy is said is right.

    There is another alternate way i guess correct me if i am wrong.

    Find out who are the users for that user1 tablespace.
    Export those users
    Where u have different database create those users and then import it back with the clause fromuser , touser

    --pravin
    Eat , Drink & Enjoy life -

    pravin_kini@hotmail.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    I need to export it to a new database..on to a new tablespace..


    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    SAN FRANCISCO, CA
    Posts
    306
    I just posted the export backup solution in ur case.

    Pravin
    Eat , Drink & Enjoy life -

    pravin_kini@hotmail.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    when i export it into the new database..i am getting error
    'tablespace user1 not found'

    The tablespace i want the tables to be moved is user2

    regards
    anandkl
    anandkl

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    If your tablespace name is different from original tablespace in the new database. First create empty table in new database in the tablespace you wanted and then import with the option ignore=y.

    Reddy,Sam

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    Originally posted by anandkl
    when i export it into the new database..i am getting error
    'tablespace user1 not found'

    The tablespace i want the tables to be moved is user2

    regards
    anandkl
    change you user's default tablespace to user2 before import and make sure he hasnt got unlimited tablespace priv

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    291
    Otherwise,
    Use indexfile option in export, create an indexfile, convert into txt file, edit the tablespace name and then save it as SQL, and then execute this file in your target DB. Its simpler if your export dump file is smaller in size. Folks, Please correct me if i'm wrong.
    PNRDBA

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    SAN FRANCISCO, CA
    Posts
    306
    boss export solution is the only best way in ur case.

    U can try other alternatives if u have ease of time and no emergency in this case.
    Eat , Drink & Enjoy life -

    pravin_kini@hotmail.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width