SGA_MAX_SIZE PROBLEM
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: SGA_MAX_SIZE PROBLEM

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    474
    Could someone help me with this problem please........

    I have these values set on my parameter:


    sga_max_size = 128M
    db_cache_size = 20M
    shared_pool_size = 30M
    log_buffer = 524288
    # large_pool_size = 32M
    # java_pool_size = 20971520

    Everytime I have SGA_MAX_TIME in my parameter, I got the following message:

    ORA-00445: background process "PMON" did not start after 120 seconds


    If I comment out the SGA_MAX_SIZE, I was able to create my database without having any problem.

    I read the docs dynamic SGA but I am not quite clear about the values and all,

    Could some senior or maybe Jeff or Julian help me to understand better????

    thanks



  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    120
    please let me know what is the database version and os because there is a bug but you need to tell me what is the os and database version

    saurabh
    Saurabh Garg
    OCP 9i

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Increase the number of semaphores if using UNIX. But with these samll values, it looks like you run on NT or 2000. Can you mount the instance with SGA_MAX_SIZE = 64M? How much RAM do you have? I have gotten once the same error. I just don't rememebr now how I solved it :-)
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g,12c
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    474
    I am running Oracle9.0.1 on Windows 2000

    I have plenty of RAM(512K).

    Please advise what I need to do????

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Tell me first, are you able you mount the instance with SGA_MAX_SIZE = 64M?
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g,12c
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    474
    Julian,

    Yes, I was able to mount the database with the size of SGA_MAX_SIZE=64M. could you please explain to me what happen??? Why I got the above error????

    Please let me know and thanks million as always


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by ashley75
    Julian,

    Yes, I was able to mount the database with the size of SGA_MAX_SIZE=64M. could you please explain to me what happen??? Why I got the above error????

    Please let me know and thanks million as always

    OK, that's what I expected. It is a memory issue/system resources. That, in case it is not an Oracle bug. Which 9i version are you using?

    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g,12c
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    474
    I am using 9.0.1

    Please explain more detail for me.

    Thanks Julian

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by ashley75
    I am using 9.0.1

    Please explain more detail for me.

    Thanks Julian
    Have you applied any patches? Sounds like a bug to me. I remember I faced something similar with the unpatched 9.0.1.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g,12c
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    474
    So it's a bug in 9.0.1(early version). Do they have Oracle 9i release 2 for windows yet ??? If yes, could you refer the patch number ???

    Thanks so much and have a great weekend

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width