change "Initial" storage option (I need to reduce sizes)
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: change "Initial" storage option (I need to reduce sizes)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    175

    Unhappy

    Hi all,

    I have 250 tables in my schema (I did not create it). Most of the tables have "initial" as 10MB but they wont even takeup 10K.

    My backup are taking toomuch time because of this.

    How can I change the settings without recreating tables.
    I dont want to messup Indexes/constraints/referential.

    Any advise would be really helpful.

    Thanks

    Sridhar R Patnam

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Washington DC
    Posts
    1,843
    Use ALTER TABLE MOVE CLAUSE and move it to a different tablespace with diffrent storage clause. See the syntax.
    Reddy,Sam

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    you can move to the same tablespace as well

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    37
    actually you can move to the same tablespace, it there is enough space.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Phoenix, AZ
    Posts
    175
    I just tried on a test table. I can see changes block location.
    Thanks very much.

    When you were refereing to space in TBS, you mean enuf space for that table ? I suppose the old segment is released after the table is moved.
    Sridhar R Patnam

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,447
    you have to rebuild the indexes after move your table, regarding space you need more space during the movement after movement the old table is dropped

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width