Instances
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Instances

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    14

    Question

    I would like to know what is better , have 2 instances or only one , and why ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    290
    What are your requirements ????
    Madhu Reddy
    xdollor@yahoo.com

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Charlotte, USA
    Posts
    330
    I feel having 2 instances is better than one.
    Thanigaivasan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    SAN FRANCISCO, CA
    Posts
    306
    is it having 2 instances in one Machine.
    or what else.

    Please put the question clearly, so that we can advise u , instead of putting a single liner question which doesnot mention what o/s and what application will be run.

    --PRAVIN
    Eat , Drink & Enjoy life -

    pravin_kini@hotmail.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,758
    A database can be mounted by one instance only unless you are using OPS.

    Sanjay

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Netherlands
    Posts
    1,587
    Depending on yr rqmts having 2 instances on the seperate server provides scalability.(allowing more connections and more transactions).
    So one instance ats as a primary instance and the other as a failover instance.The failure/secondary instance takes over when primary fails.
    This setup protects against instance failures etc but not against media/or non media failures.So don't think of it as an option for high availability against data failures* but scalability.
    * here you might considering a stby database setup.

    Hope that explains.
    Tarry
    Tarry Singh
    I'm a JOLE(JavaOracleLinuxEnthusiast)
    TarryBlogging
    --- Everything was meant to be---

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width