Is there any way to tell oracle to use all available processors on a machine ?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Is there any way to tell oracle to use all available processors on a machine ?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    18
    Oracle8i database is runnig on UNIX HP9000 machine which has six processors in it. Is there any way to tell oracle to use all six processors when I do the dataloading in oracle tables.
    Is it a oracle specific setting or UNIX related settings?
    Please help me.
    Thanks.

    Jain


  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,136
    Oracle 8i automatically detets the available cpu.
    Use CPU_COUNT parameter.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    290
    I think its from version 8

    SQL> select * from v$version;

    BANNER
    ----------------------------------------------------------------
    Oracle8 Enterprise Edition Release 8.0.4.4.0 - Production
    PL/SQL Release 8.0.4.4.0 - Production
    CORE Version 4.0.4.0.0 - Production
    TNS for Solaris: Version 8.0.4.0.0 - Production
    NLSRTL Version 3.3.1.0.0 - Production

    SQL> @param
    Enter value for parameter: cpu
    old 6: WHERE name like '%&parameter%'
    new 6: WHERE name like '%cpu%'

    Session System
    NAME VALUE Modifiable Modifiable
    -------------------------------------------------- ---------------------------- ---------- ----------
    cpu_count 12 FALSE FALSE
    Madhu Reddy
    xdollor@yahoo.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    132

    naive follow up question

    if the underlying OS (ie. Linux) doesn't have (or doesn't have decent) SMP support will Oracle still be able to take advantage of SMP? or is Oracle's ability to use mulitple processor dependent on the underlying OS?
    You think I'm going to have an affair with you? --Stanley Kowalski

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,136
    If the underlying OS does not support SMP, then Oracle will not able to use it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York , New York
    Posts
    577
    Originally posted by tamilselvan
    If the underlying OS does not support SMP, then Oracle will not able to use it.

    whats SMP????????? and whats it there for.

    Ronnie
    ronnie_yours@yahoo.com

    You can if you think you can.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    MULTIPLE PROCESSOR

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width