TNS ERROR
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: TNS ERROR

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    86
    Hi Guys,

    I tried to to create a new database according to the script
    as
    http://www.dbascripts.com/all_script...?group=Cloning

    (1)Then I created the service using oradim.
    (2)Then I added the new address in tnsnames.ora(port 1528)

    But I am still gettting error : ORA-12541 TNS no Listner.
    I checked teh staus of listener and its OK.

    And IF i try to enter from SQL*plus it's saying ORA-24314
    service handled not initialized

    How I can get rid of this error.

    Thanks,
    Harry

    NOTE : Jeff Hunter : marist89@yahoo.com
    Please do not lock this...i am facing errors.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Louisville KY
    Posts
    295
    1-modify listener.ora to include the new instance, then restart/refresh the listener.

    2-For SQLPLUS, check your environmentals, you may be pointing to the wrong instance if you are not qualifying your connection (@other-instance ).
    Joseph R.P. Maloney, CSP,CDP,CCP
    'The answer is 42'

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    SAN FRANCISCO, CA
    Posts
    306
    Looks like u have not updated the entry in listener.ora file.

    You have to put all the details of your oracle_sid, host , protocol, port in the listener.ora file.

    Then try ;;


    also if u are windows nt/2k then just see on control panel options and check services for oracle.
    Eat , Drink & Enjoy life -

    pravin_kini@hotmail.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    86
    I am trying to connect BBBB.


    LISTENER =
    (DESCRIPTION_LIST =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = EXTPROC0))
    )
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = HARISH)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = HARISH)(PORT = 2481))
    (PROTOCOL_STACK =
    (PRESENTATION = GIOP)
    (SESSION = RAW)
    )
    )
    )

    SID_LIST_LISTENER =
    (SID_LIST =
    (SID_DESC =
    (SID_NAME = PLSExtProc)
    (ORACLE_HOME = C:\oracle\ora81)
    (PROGRAM = extproc)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = AAAA)
    (ORACLE_HOME = C:\oracle\ora81)
    (SID_NAME = AAAA)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = test)
    (ORACLE_HOME = C:\oracle\ora81)
    (SID_NAME = test)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = TES1)
    (ORACLE_HOME = C:\oracle\ora81)
    (SID_NAME = TES1)
    )
    (SID_DESC =
    (GLOBAL_DBNAME = BBBB)
    (ORACLE_HOME = C:\oracle\ora81)
    (SID_NAME = BBBB)
    )
    )

    Still its not working
    Harry

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    Try lsnrctl reload (or stop and start the listener to get the SID registered).

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    Also, what does lsnrctl status output?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    86
    STATUS:

    Trace Level = off
    Security = off
    SNMP = off

    Services Summary
    BBBB has 1 service handler(s)

    BUT IT IS SHOWING TWICE

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    2,645
    Make sure the port in tnsnames.ora matches what you have in the listener.ora file. You specified 1528 in one place and 1521 in another.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    86
    Can I assign the same port (1521) to the different databases.

    Thanks
    Harry

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    86
    I changed the PORT to 1521 and now its connecting.

    Thanks,
    Harry

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width