How do you use Erwin to organize your ERD?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: How do you use Erwin to organize your ERD?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    26
    How do you use Erwin to organize your ERD?

    Here is the task I got:

    We have a database with more than 150 tables. I need to prepare a good ERD (entity-relationship-diagram) for developers.

    I use Erwin to do "reverse engineering" and get the ERD from the database. However, all I got is just a chart with all tables interwined together. It's really messy. I have to manually re-organize those tables very carefully. This costs me hours of time.

    Does any know any better way to get a good ERD file from Erwin or other tools? Thank you.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    ATLANTA, GA, USA
    Posts
    3,135
    You may create module wise ERD which is very easy to read.
    Designer and ER-Studio has this option.
    I am not sure ER-WIN has it.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,015
    The reason why I have used Erwin 4.0 is so that I can create a logical/physical model of my database pointing to scql server. Make all of the changes there, and then derive an new oracle model when ever I want. The models can be used to create the ddl for creating a database. As we are an ISV we spend a lot of time managing the base install scripts as well as upgrade scripts to go from version a to version b. If you use Erwin it is a good idea to take a few classes from CA if you haven't already. Also make sure that you are on Erwin 4.0 build 1693.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Posts
    191
    I used ERwin to. I did not find any any easy way to re-size tables.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    81
    you ar going to have to manually unwind all those relationships, you may try exporting into your tables one by one or groups of tables then it's easier to deal with relationships.

    Visio also has a diagram Build module, try that........

    Eugene Roytman
    OCP 8i

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Location
    fremont ca
    Posts
    182
    in er win try go to -> edit -> subject area, you can organize your ERD subject wise...
    Or one diagram can be break up in small diagram you can transfer your entity between two diagram....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width