Rookie Question - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Rookie Question

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    301
    Hi,

    Julian, if we set the value of remote_login_passwordfile=none then it means that you should give the
    privileges through OS and it won't use Password File right?

    One of my Sr. DBA told that we should always set it to exclusive.

    What's your opinion on this.

    Vijay.
    Say No To Plastics

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by oravijay
    Hi,

    Julian, if we set the value of remote_login_passwordfile=none then it means that you should give the
    privileges through OS and it won't use Password File right?

    One of my Sr. DBA told that we should always set it to exclusive.

    What's your opinion on this.

    Vijay.
    Your Senior DBA is right. He will also change it to EXCLUSIVE after he creates the database. Let's see if he will post the init.ora or if he has already solved the problem.



    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g,12c
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    301
    Hi,

    Thanx very much Julian.
    I have been asked to manage around 8 instances running in production recently.
    It will be great if you can tell me what are all the information that I should get from the database initially
    and in future. Do you have any sql scripts related to that.

    If you have them and willing to share please mail at oravijay@rediffmail.com.

    Vijay.
    Say No To Plastics

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    I will send you soon an email.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g,12c
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    41

    Talking

    Julian, want to see the output??

    ----
    Database created.
    ----

    Thanks pal, thank you very much.

    PS1: I would really appreciate if you could send that e-mail to me too. (jval@migraciones.gov.ar)

    PS2: What about the error with the national character set. Is there a work around?

    NATIONAL CHARACTER SET "WE8ISO8859P1"
    *
    ERROR at line 13:
    ORA-12714: invalid national character set specified


    Your help is appreciated.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    13
    Hi,there

    In Oracle9i,only Unicode is supported for National Character Set,you can only set National Character Set as UTF8 or AL16UTF16.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2000
    Posts
    155
    julian,
    Could you please email me the script as well?
    nannep@yahoo.com

    TIA

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    41

    Thumbs up

    Thanks jasontang.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by Arda
    Julian, want to see the output??

    ----
    Database created.
    ----

    Thanks pal, thank you very much.

    Very good!

    PS1: I would really appreciate if you could send that e-mail to me too. (jval@migraciones.gov.ar)
    I will send you an email.



    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g,12c
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width