Rookie Question
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Rookie Question

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    41

    Unhappy

    Hi there.

    I am trying to create a database in 9i using the following script

    SQL> spool off
    SQL> @/u01/prb1/prbrun.sql
    SQL> spool /u01/prb1/spoolmain.txt
    SQL> set echo on
    SQL> CREATE DATABASE TEST_1
    2 LOGFILE '/u01/test1/logPRB11.ora' SIZE 1024K,
    3 '/u01/test1/logPRB12.ora' SIZE 1024K,
    4 '/u01/test1/logPRB13.ora' SIZE 1024K,
    5 '/u01/test1/logPRB14.ora' SIZE 1024K
    6 MAXLOGFILES 32
    7 MAXLOGMEMBERS 2
    8 MAXLOGHISTORY 1
    9 DATAFILE '/u01/test/Sys1PRB1.ora' SIZE 50M
    10 MAXDATAFILES 254
    11 MAXINSTANCES 1
    12 CHARACTER SET WE8ISO8859P1;
    CREATE DATABASE PRUEBA_1
    *

    The script ends in the following error:

    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01092: ORACLE instance terminated. Disconnection forced

    Any tip????

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    41
    Oops, Error would read:

    CREATE DATABASE TEST_1
    *

    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-01092: ORACLE instance terminated. Disconnection forced


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    41

    Exclamation

    By the way, the same script runs OK in 8i.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    200
    The error says your instance went down. Did you check. Have you run it more than once?
    Life is what is happening today while you were planning tomorrow.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    41

    Lightbulb

    I did. I run it almost 10 times. Anyway, I can't make out why is it that the same script runs ok in oracle 8i.

    Then I added the line:
    NATIONAL CHARACTER SET WE8ISO8859P1

    And 9i reports another error
    ORA-12714: invalid national character set specified

    Damn...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    200
    Can you bounce the instance? and forget about Xter set. Is the default not OK?
    Life is what is happening today while you were planning tomorrow.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Hi, tell me what is compatible set to.
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    41
    If by bouncing you mean shutting it down, I certainly did.

    I shut it down, delete all created files, and went back to square 1. You know, startup nomount pfile = .........

    But running the script leads to the same weird mistake.

    I'll try creating some other databse, but then again this one is a very simple script, isn't it?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Posts
    200
    Do you have other instances running on this box. Any issues with them?
    Life is what is happening today while you were planning tomorrow.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by Arda
    If by bouncing you mean shutting it down, I certainly did.

    I shut it down, delete all created files, and went back to square 1. You know, startup nomount pfile = .........

    But running the script leads to the same weird mistake.

    I'll try creating some other databse, but then again this one is a very simple script, isn't it?
    Do the following:

    1. Check remote_login_passwordfile in init.ora. If it is something different than NONE, then this is the problem.

    2. If not, post please the complete init.ora file. It is some parameter in the init.ora which causes the 1092 error.

    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width