Which one to use : Pro*C or PL/SQL - Page 2
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Which one to use : Pro*C or PL/SQL

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany.Laudenbach
    Posts
    448
    i agree with you.

    Orca

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,287
    This is disscuss about nothing.
    Question about using pro*c (pro*ada, pro*fortran ...) or pl/sql doesn't exists.
    We usually have only one basic question:
    What kind of system architecture we are going to build:
    - with havy client's component
    - whth thin client
    - mixed model (with balance between client and server(s))
    - with deditated application servers.
    ...
    - platform depended
    - platform independed
    ...

    when we decided for ourself this problem (or problems) we may make choises of
    languges, tools ... what ever.

    About faster/slover.
    only 1 sql query can make a degradation of perfomance whole application in pl/sql.
    only 1 loop in pro*c or struture of objects or memory allocation/deallocation procedure in c, can kill whole programm.


  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany.Laudenbach
    Posts
    448
    Oh, hoppla.
    This sounds like Shakespeare 'much do about nothing';
    You are right, if you start a new project you look in a global scope.
    But in a running project if a module/program works to slow
    you have to ask yourself if you have choosen the right tool/Language for the Solution.
    Sometimes you have to deal with the detail-area very much.

    Orca

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,287
    It's correct. But...
    In this case u should ask another question. Like:
    "how i can use pl/sql (or bla, bla...) if i have ... problems with perfomance.
    or i have to use another ways for solve this problem ?"
    Rule --> if u going to get right anwer u have to ask right question.

    ------------------------------------------
    NOTE: ur question about ALTER TABLE MOVE - right question.


    [Edited by Shestakov on 05-02-2002 at 11:01 AM]

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Location
    Germany.Laudenbach
    Posts
    448
    Yes indeed;
    You must ask the right questions to get the right anwers;

    Orca

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Posts
    1
    Hi ,
    Can you please share code with me. We have similar problem to move large set oracle to DWH as csv files. We used PL/SQL procedure , but we faced the issue like temp table space exceed.

    If possible please share the code for data movement.That will be more helpfull to me

    Mah@rac

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    4,127
    There are three issues here. First any valid solution in 2002 might no longer be a valid solution 14 years later given that we are on 12c now and 8i hasn't been supported in 8-9 years. Two the OP probably hasn't logged onto this site in years, and might no longer have access to the code that they had been using. Finally, you asked a new question based on a dead thread.

    If you are filling up your temp table space, you are probably doing a large disk sort. Is it possible that you have a cartesean product? If not could adding an index with the columns that you are filtering on and the sort order that you want work? No one can help you with your issue, unless you provide some details.
    this space intentionally left blank

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width