Installing Oracle
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Installing Oracle

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    50
    Hi all, I am a newbee learning to install Oracle. I have already installed Oracle 8.1.7 on Solaris and created a database. Now, to start the database, I did a

    bash-2.05$ svrmgrl
    bash: svrmgrl: command not found

    Is there any script which I have to run to enable these options ? All the server commands, like LSNRCTL or OEMCTRL give the same error.


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Your environment is not setup correctly. Make sure your $ORACLE_HOME, $LD_LIBARY_PATH, and $ORACLE_SID are set correctly and that $ORACLE_HOME/bin is in your path.

    The environment can be set correctly by sourcing the oraenv script usually found in your local bin directory.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    50
    Thanks Jeff. That worked. I used
    bash-2.05$ . oraenv to set the variables. But I have to do this each and every time I connect to the server - should it not be a one-time thing ?




    [Edited by Shiva on 04-23-2002 at 10:45 AM]

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    All that is set in a file called .profile
    Oracle Certified Master
    Oracle Certified Professional 6i,8i,9i,10g,11g
    email: ocp_9i@yahoo.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by Shiva
    Thanks Jeff. That worked. I used
    bash-2.05$ . oraenv to set the variables. But I have to do this each and every time I connect to the server - should it not be a one-time thing ?

    [Edited by Shiva on 04-23-2002 at 10:45 AM]
    No, its not a one-time thing. You have to set you environment each and every time you login to the box. If you are only working with one instance on this box, you could set your environment variables in your .profile. Otherwise, you could call oraenv from your .profile...
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2002
    Posts
    50
    Ok, Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,185
    Or if you foresee multiple versions of Oracle or different tools on the same server, you can execute scripts after logging in.

    For example, if you plan to run an application server or drive your backup from the same server, the environmental variables might be different. It depends on the number of databases you plan to have and the number of admins.

    Good luck.

    David Knight
    OCP DBA 8i, 9i, 10g

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width