Import gives errors
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Import gives errors

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620
    Hi all,

    I did the following:

    step1 on serverA
    exp80 system/manager@prod --(to prod DB) file=expprod.dmp log=expprod.log full=y rows=Y consistent=y

    Here. Oracle ver. is 8.0.5

    step2
    copy expprod.dmp over to new server (serverB)

    step3
    imp80 system/manager@dev (to serverB)
    file=expprod.dmp log=impdev.log full=y ignore=y

    Here, Oracle ver. is 8.1.7.1.5

    I did get some errors
    =============
    IMP-00019: row rejected due to ORACLE error 1
    IMP-00003: ORACLE error 1 encountered
    ORA-00001: unique constraint (constraint_name) violated

    and similar errors.


    My questions:

    1. Is it because, I have not disabled the constraints?

    2. If I disable the constraints such as primary key, won't it insert duplicate records?

    3. Say for example, in the table exported, there are 5 columns and the table already there in the database in which import to be done, has 4 or 6 columns, will it still do import into that table?

    4. If I drop the table before doing import, what happens to the privileges granted on that table to users?

    5. Should I drop whole user with cascade option before doing import and then do the userbased import instead of FULL?

    Pl. help.

    Thanks in Adv.
    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,287
    If u need only rows from dump file u can truncate table before import.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620
    If u need only rows from dump file u can truncate table before import.


    Actually, I want to do FULL import and not just rows. also indexes, packages and everything.

    Thanks,
    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,287
    I asked u about rows, because u should deside for yourself :
    "Me need old rows in this table or not? If not need, then i can truncate table, if need i'll get a lot of messages about constraints violation.
    And that's it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620
    Can somebody reply to my questions 3,4 and 5 pl?
    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    3. 4-no, 6-yes as long as they are named the same.
    4. the privs get dropped
    5. if you do, you also drop any privs that might be granted to that user from other schemas.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width