Changing archival destination
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Changing archival destination

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    149
    Hi,
    I don't know why the archive destination in my db is pointing to ..\archive2 instead of ..\archive (a mandatory destination). I want to change it to ..\archive but couldn't do it. Here is the
    scenario.

    > archive log list;

    Database log mode Archive Mode
    Automatic archival Enabled
    Archive destination C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive2
    Oldest online log sequence 1999
    Next log sequence to archive 2001
    Current log sequence 2001


    These are the entries in my init file:

    ##### For archiving if archiving is enabled #####
    log_archive_start = true
    log_archive_dest_1 = "location=C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive MANDATORY"
    log_archive_dest_2 = "location=C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive2"
    log_archive_format = %%ORACLE_SID%%T%TS%S.ARC

    If I want to change my archive destination to ...\mydata\archive (instead of ..\archive2)
    directory how would I do that? I tried both of the following commands but none of them work.


    SQL> alter system set log_archive_dest='C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive';
    alter system set log_archive_dest='C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive'
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-02097: parameter cannot be modified because specified value is invalid
    ORA-16018: cannot use LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST with LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST_n


    SQL> alter system archive log start to 'C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive';
    alter system archive log start to 'C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive'
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-16019: cannot use LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST_1 with LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST or
    LOG_ARCHIVE_DUPLEX_DEST

    Do I have other options?? Please advise. Thanks


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    1,185
    It will require a shutdown and restart with the parameters in the init.ora adjusted.
    David Knight
    OCP DBA 8i, 9i, 10g

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,287
    Just change
    " --> '
    log_archive_dest_1 = 'location=C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive MANDATORY'
    log_archive_dest_2 = 'location=C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive2'

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    149
    Originally posted by dknight
    It will require a shutdown and restart with the parameters in the init.ora adjusted.
    I haven't changed anything in the init file yet. The init parameters in my previous post are the current settings. I only ran the two 'ALTER SYSTEM' commands but got no luck. Alternatively, I think if I go with LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST and
    LOG_ARCHIVE_DUPLEX_DEST, the problem would be resolved but I'd like to know what can we do when we use LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST_N parameter. Thanks

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    149
    Originally posted by Shestakov
    Just change
    " --> '
    log_archive_dest_1 = 'location=C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive MANDATORY'
    log_archive_dest_2 = 'location=C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive2'
    no luck. Thanks

    PS: The db is running fine except that I want to change the archive destination.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,287
    Note about LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST:
    For Enterprise Edition users, this parameter has been deprecated in favor of the LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST_n parameters. If Oracle Enterprise Edition is not installed or it is installed, but you have not specified any LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST_n parameters, this parameter is valid.
    You cannot use both LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST_n and LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST, as they are not compatible.

    Try :
    alter system set log_archive_dest_1='location=C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive MANDATORY'


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    149
    This is the weirdest error that I've seen in Oracle. As shown below, the ALTER SYSTEM ARCHIVE LOG START ... command failed but the change was made. The archive log list result showed that the new archive destination has now been changed to ../archive from ../archive2. How did this happen?



    SQL> shutdown immediate;
    Database closed.
    Database dismounted.
    ORACLE instance shut down.
    SQL> startup
    ORACLE instance started.

    Total System Global Area 22963468 bytes
    Fixed Size 70924 bytes
    Variable Size 6037504 bytes
    Database Buffers 16777216 bytes
    Redo Buffers 77824 bytes
    Database mounted.
    Database opened.

    SQL> archive log list;
    Database log mode Archive Mode
    Automatic archival Enabled
    Archive destination C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive2
    Oldest online log sequence 1999
    Next log sequence to archive 2001
    Current log sequence 2001

    SQL> alter system archive log start to 'C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive';
    alter system archive log start to 'C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive'
    *
    ERROR at line 1:
    ORA-16019: cannot use LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST_1 with LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST or
    LOG_ARCHIVE_DUPLEX_DEST

    SQL> archive log list;
    Database log mode Archive Mode
    Automatic archival Enabled
    Archive destination C:\oracle\oradata\mydb\archive
    Oldest online log sequence 1999
    Next log sequence to archive 2001
    Current log sequence 2001
    SQL>


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    391
    It's not weird,

    there are several things you might want to check :


    1) make sure you have the locations set up on your OS before you alter the system and point it to the new location

    2) change LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST_1 to LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST


    it should be really simple. let us know if you still have problem


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    149
    Originally posted by mike73
    It's not weird,

    there are several things you might want to check :


    1) make sure you have the locations set up on your OS before you alter the system and point it to the new location

    2) change LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST_1 to LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST


    it should be really simple. let us know if you still have problem



    I've made zero changes in the init file. My database is working normal but all I want to do is changing/switching the archival location. I do have both LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST_1 and LOG_ARCHIVE_DEST_2 in the init file. Archived log files are functioning normally as expected . I think there is a bug in Oracle. Correct me if I'm wrong


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,287
    U right. Seems like usual oracle bug.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width