DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: startup/shutdown db remotely

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    149
    Hi,
    I have installed on oracle 8i on one of my win2000 pc, and I also have another win98 stand alone pc. If I want to use sqlplus to do shutdown/startup my database using the win98 client what are the neccessary steps that I should
    perform here?? Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    267
    Unless you have a dispatcher .. You can do remote shutdown/startup operations . Only thing you have to is make a init.ora copy into your 98 machine .. When you start your database you have to use your local init.ora file
    Raghu

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    149
    Originally posted by raghud
    Unless you have a dispatcher .. You can do remote shutdown/startup operations . Only thing you have to is make a init.ora copy into your 98 machine .. When you start your database you have to use your local init.ora file
    can you show me the steps to setup a dispatcher, i did copy the tnsnames over to the win98 pc and it works fine.Thanks

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,287
    Originally posted by raghud
    Unless you have a dispatcher .. You can do remote shutdown/startup operations . Only thing you have to is make a init.ora copy into your 98 machine .. When you start your database you have to use your local init.ora file
    ------------------------------------------------
    U should have only path (in any form, better using map server disk) to server init$SID.ora file.

    and u can use:

    sqlplus /nolog

    connect sys/change_on_install@BASE as sysdba

    > startup pfile='FULL_PATH_TO_INIT.ORA' (on remout box)
    ---------------------------------------
    or
    > shutdown [immediate]


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    149

    U should have only path (in any form, better using map server disk) to server init$SID.ora file.

    and u can use:

    sqlplus /nolog

    connect sys/change_on_install@BASE as sysdba

    > startup pfile='FULL_PATH_TO_INIT.ORA' (on remout box)
    ---------------------------------------
    or
    > shutdown [immediate]



    Thanks, but I got this error message when i try to connect sys
    as sysdba

    ERROR:
    ORA-01031: insufficient privileges

    when I use without sysdba it works fine. ??

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Posts
    267
    Probably you are using password file . Try giving the exact password when you created the password file . Connecting to sys and connecting to sys as sysdba are different ..

    If you forgot the password for sysdba users create the password file one more time ..
    Raghu

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    NJ, USA
    Posts
    1,287
    Check parameter in init.ora
    REMOTE_LOGIN_PASSWORDFILE= {NONE | SHARED | EXCLUSIVE}


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width