desc command does not work
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: desc command does not work

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    94
    hi !

    the select command works but if I try the desc command on the same object it does not work.

    Does any body know the reason why?

    Thank you in advance,

    chris

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Posts
    87

    Desc table

    Do you own the object you are trying to run desc on?
    Mohammad Zahid
    Software Developer
    Database Management Applications.
    Vancouver, Canada
    E-mail: mzahid@shaw.ca

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    94
    Yes!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    763
    In which utility are you using the desc command. This command is specific of SQL*Plus.

    Regards

    Angel

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    94
    Im using "golden view" but I think that is not the problem... because it is working on the other data bases...

    Is there a special role allowing to read such information?

    chis

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    chennai
    Posts
    69

    golden view

    what is that golden view . is it a tool. where can i get more details about that. is there any download available for that.
    pls inform.

    regards

    swaminathan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    94

    golden view from benthic software

    you can download a 30 days trial version here:

    http://www.benthicsoftware.com/downloads.html

    chris

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    Birmingham, UK
    Posts
    360
    What version of Oracle are you running (and which platform). We recently hit a simialr problem on 8.1.7 on AIX - it turned out to be a bug. Do you get an Oracle error no?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Are you trying to describe a table across a database link? There have been problems with this as well.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    94
    Originally posted by fraze
    What version of Oracle are you running (and which platform). We recently hit a simialr problem on 8.1.7 on AIX - it turned out to be a bug. Do you get an Oracle error no?
    I use Oracle 8.1.7 - so it is a bug?

    The error is "table or view does not exist".

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width