Recovery without online redo logs or controlfile
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Recovery without online redo logs or controlfile

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    I want to recover a database where I have lost the redo logs. The database is in archivelog mode and I have the appropriate archived logs. However, I have lost all my online redo logs. In addition, I have lost the binary copy of my control file, but I have the CREATE CONTROLFILE statement from a "backup controlfile to trace" command.

    I know I'll have to do an incomplete recovery through the last archived redo log, which is fine. However, I can't create the control file because my CREATE CONTROLFILE statement contains entries for the online redo logs which are missing. What's the best way to proceed?

    This is just an excersise.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    389
    Get the last good backup and apply archive log till the last
    sequence available.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    150
    use
    create controlfile set database "database name" resetlogs archivelog........
    and then specify online redo log and controlfiles.

    This will create a controlfile and new on line redo log files.
    Then do
    recover database using backup controlfile until cancel;
    and then specify required archived redo log files until database become point in time and then type cancel.
    it will say database recovery complete.
    then type
    alter database open resetlogs;
    this will open the database upto the last archived redo log file.

    If you have any question then let me know. i have done this so many time.

    UKDBA

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    If you have your current controlfile in place then you just need to restore only the datafiles and do recovery.
    else if you have lost ur current controlfile then you need to restore all the files i.e datafile,controfile,logfile and do a recovery.

    cheese
    anandkl
    anandkl

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by gpsingh
    Get the last good backup and apply archive log till the last
    sequence available.
    I don't have the control file, either.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by UKDBA
    create controlfile set database "database name" resetlogs archivelog........
    Yes! Telling the controlfile to resetlogs was the key.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Originally posted by anandkl
    If you have your current controlfile in place then you just need to restore only the datafiles and do recovery.
    else if you have lost ur current controlfile then you need to restore all the files i.e datafile,controfile,logfile and do a recovery.

    cheese
    anandkl
    I don't have a control file.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    159
    If the database was truely shutdown normal or immediate prior to the loss of the online redologs and controlfile you should be able to recreate the controlfile specifying the RESETLOGS option, then open the database resetlogs. This will recreate and reinitialize the online logs. If the database was not shutdown normal or immediate, this would not be possible.


    Good luck!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width