ORA-01031: insufficient privileges
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: ORA-01031: insufficient privileges

Question

Hi I'm new to Oracle and computers and I need help.
    I installed Oracle 8.1.7 and OEM2.2 on Win2K. I could connect to the database as sysdba but now I can't anymore (either through DBAStudio or using SVRMGR). I keep getting ORA-01031: insufficient privileges

I can connect using sys/change_on_install or system/manager or my own OS username/password, but not as sysdba.

I know that in order to start up an Oracle database using the connect internal or connect / as sysdba syntax, the currently logged in OS user must be in the ORA_DBA Windows group, if the operating system is Windows NT or 2000. And I double-checked it already, in fact it was working fine before. Any idea about what might be happening?

Thank you in advance.

Heloisa

to invoke svrmgr you you need to be the owner of the software. Usually Oracle in group dba on unix.
    Make sure that by the time you attempt to invoke svrmgr your id on the OS should be Oracle.
    hope this helps.
    Life is what is happening today while you were planning tomorrow.

Question ORA-01031: only with sqlplus or srvmgrl !

thanks for the reply.

I don't know about UNIX, since i'm using Windows, but I guess when you talk about the dba group in UNIX is this same as ORA_DBA group in Windows.

Here's some more information on the problem I'm having, if somebody can help...

The parameter remote_login_passwordfile is set to exclusive
    and this is all I had in the password file were the users INTERNAL and SYS

Then I added my OS username (part of the ORA_DBA group)to the password file.

Now I am able to connect to the database as SYSDBA using DBA Studio and OEM, which I couldn't do before. Great!!!