dcsimg
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Recreating database

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620

    Unhappy

    Hi all,

    Oracle 805/ NT 4.

    I am planning to recreate TEST database on NT.

    I am going to do foll. steps.

    1. Take database cold backup.
    2. Take Full export.
    3. Drop whole database.
    4. Recreate the database with 'Create database reuse controlfile' command.
    5. Import the whole database back.

    Pl. tell me if any step is missing in above especially on NT.

    I have a doubt. Before doing Import, do I need to create schemas or it will be created with import by itself?

    Pl. advise.

    Thanks in Adv.

    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    149
    Here is a faster way. First, you create a controlfile creation script (..backup controlfile to trace) and then copy your cold backup files to the new location. Next, edit the controlfile creation script to change DB name and location of db files, you must also create and modify a new init file for the new db( use your current init file as the model) but ensure that all the parameters would point to the new db location.

    [Edited by newbie on 02-13-2002 at 12:59 PM]

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620
    Thanks Newbie,

    My purpose of doing export/import excersize is to remove free space fragmentation from the database so direct copying of datafiles won't work here.

    Thanks anyway.

    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Louisville KY
    Posts
    295
    I am not sure about the create database reuse.....
    It doesn't feel right, but it might work.

    As an alternative. After your export (FULL=Y), why not just do a delete user cascade and then coalesce the freespace. Once these are done, you just need to do an import. It might be simpler.
    Joseph R.P. Maloney, CSP,CDP,CCP
    'The answer is 42'

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width