Can this be done?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Can this be done?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    117

    Question

    How can you truncate a table in the SYS schema?
    I am in using Oracle 9i.
    Is this even possible?

    E. Yen

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,095
    Other than the obvious repercussions, sure, you can do it.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    You can but I think it's only recommended aud$

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Posts
    2

    Snapshot too Old

    What is the exact cause of snapshopt too old error

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    725
    Snapshot too old.

    Your rollback segments aren't sized big enough, oracle cannot create read consistent view of data.

    scenario

    User A updates emp, starts long running transaction and doesn't commit.

    User B queries emp with long running transaction. Because Oracle is read consistent it will try and get a snapshot of the data at the time User B starts his transaction.

    User A commits.

    User C overwites User A's commited rollback segment data with his own update.

    User B's query reaches the point where it needs to get rollback segment data prior to User A's update. Can't get it as User C has overwritten it. Result - User B gets Snapshot too old.

    Solution : Larger rolback segments with larger minextents, initial, next size.



    Once you have eliminated all of the impossible,
    whatever remains however improbable,
    must be true.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Posts
    117

    Pando . . . can this be done?

    Is it possible to truncate the SYS.FGA_LOG$ ?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439

    Re: Pando . . . can this be done?

    Originally posted by eyen
    Is it possible to truncate the SYS.FGA_LOG$ ?
    Sure it can be done (as you were allready told by jeff and pando). But the real question should be: "Should this be done?". I don't have an answer to this question, as I don't know what is the purpose of this table. The only table that I know of being safe to truncate is SYS.AUD$, as pando allready have mentioned.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width