DB went down
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: DB went down

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684

    Angry

    Win2000; 8.1.7

    Hi, guys our database went down after several months of successful work, the error message I have found in alert.log is:

    Thu Feb 07 02:32:32 2002
    Errors in file E:\oracle\admin\traxtest\bdump\traxtestCKPT.TRC:
    ORA-00206: error in writing (block 3, # blocks 1) of controlfile
    ORA-00202: controlfile: 'F:\TRAXTEST\CONTROL03.CTL'
    ORA-27072: skgfdisp: I/O error
    OSD-04008: WriteFile() failure, unable to write to file
    O/S-Error: (OS 1453) Insufficient quota to complete the requested service.
    Thu Feb 07 02:32:32 2002
    CKPT: terminating instance due to error 221
    Instance terminated by CKPT, pid = 1596
    Dump file E:\oracle\admin\traxtest\bdump\traxtestALRT.LOG
    Thu Feb 07 12:12:58 2002

    traxtestALRT.LOG:

    *** 2002-02-07 02:32:32.765
    *** SESSION ID:(4.1) 2002-02-07 02:32:32.750
    ORA-00206: error in writing (block 3, # blocks 1) of controlfile
    ORA-00202: controlfile: 'F:\TRAXTEST\CONTROL03.CTL'
    ORA-27072: skgfdisp: I/O error
    OSD-04008: WriteFile() failure, unable to write to file
    O/S-Error: (OS 1453) Insufficient quota to complete the requested service.
    error 221 detected in background process



    We have 2Gb RAM, 6Gb free space on a HD.
    I have found in OS Alert Messages: 'Lack of Virtual Memory'.
    Could it be the reason of database failure?

    Thank you for any advices!
    Best wishes!
    Dmitri

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2002
    Location
    http://db-migration.co.in
    Posts
    50
    Hi,
    I think what u need is to see whether u have given the adequate Table space quotas to the users.

    Just see the view for ts quotas and give more table space quotas to the particular users. Alternatively , u can allocate a new default table space to the user, with autoextend on and maxextents unlimited. So it wont give error for lack of quotas as it will have unlimited for the user.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Sounds like your quota error is with your OS. Check to make sure that the Oracle software owner doesn't have any restrictions on how much space they can use. Also, check to make sure you have enough free space on F:
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    Ireland/Dublin
    Posts
    684
    TS quota is unlimted.
    Oracle owner on WinNT is Administrator.
    Thank you.
    Best wishes!
    Dmitri

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2001
    Location
    chennai,bangalore
    Posts
    840
    Just check the paging size at the OS level.and make sure that the sga allocated to oracle is not being swaped or paging is happening.


    anandkl

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Yeap! a low memory could cause this problem. This this message is kind of missleading, I have heard of this problem. Check your event log and see what had happened at the time of failure. That will reveal the secreat to an extent.


    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width