Dear Friends
I have a tricky if convoluted implementation issue and hope you can assist with resolution.
I have a form with a master/detail relationship.
The master block has a primary key called master_id and the detail block has three foreign keys (caller_id, requested_id and responder_id) that the primary key master_id must map to.
master table (master block)
master_id varchar2(4);

detail table (detail block)
caller_id varchar2(4)
constraint fk_callnum foreign key (caller_id) references master(master_id),
requested_id varchar2(4)
constraint fk_reqnum foreign key (requested_id) references master(master_id),
caller_id varchar2(4)
constraint fk_resnum foreign key (responder_id) references master(master_id)
I know it is poorly designed. They do not want to redesign.

This is the process flow.
A physician calls our office to speak with another physician in our office, an operator searches the master block with the caller's(physician's) name and area he/she is calling from. If information about that caller exists on the master block, it is displayed on the master block.
The operator then takes the master_id of the caller and enters in it on the caller_id box of the detail block.
The operator then goes back to the master block and does a search of the name of the person the caller wants to speak to. If information about the requested physician exists, his/her id is entered on the requested_id box in the detail block. If contact is made with that physician, or with someone from his/her office, then the requested_id also becomes the responder_id. If the physician being asked for is not available and no one in his/her office is available to take the call, then the call is redirected to another office. In this case, the responder_id is different from the requested_id. Again, information about the office the call was redirected to will have to be searched for in the master block.
Now if I have not already confused you, here is where problem comes in for us.