import /export
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: import /export

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Posts
    149
    Hi,

    Can we take an export file from AIX and import directly into NT
    given that both o/s using the same Oracle version??


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2000
    Location
    Ljubljana, Slovenia
    Posts
    4,439
    Yes.
    Jurij Modic
    ASCII a stupid question, get a stupid ANSI
    24 hours in a day .... 24 beer in a case .... coincidence?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    131

    Hi,
    Oracle Export/Import is platform generic.

    So we can Export database from one platform and ftp to other OS and then import the dump file.

    Anandharaj
    a_anandharaj@yahoo.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    809
    be careful to ftp in binary mode in going from NT to Unix (or UX > NT)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    131
    Hi

    And also, if you are going to import the dumpfile to Unix based system... the export dump file size greater than 2gb, you will not import directly... you need to make node...compress the dump file... and then uncompress...and import the file...

    Anandharaj
    a_anandharaj@yahoo.com

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    809
    or simply use the filesize option of exp/imp ...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    131
    Hi Pipo

    Could you please explain with example about the usage of FILESIZE option ?

    Thanks in Advance.
    Anandharaj
    a_anandharaj@yahoo.com

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    809
    let's say you have 2.5 Gb of data to export. you know that you could have problems with a file that is over 2 Gb, so you export specifying filesize=1G, exp will export in a first dump file of 1 Gb, when it's full, exp will continue in another 1 Gb file, and you'll end with a 500Mb file ...

    and you can now import normally these export files, you just have to specify the filesize parameter in your imp command

    for example :

    exp system/manager file=exp.dmp log=exp.log full=y direct=y filesize=1G

    imp system/manager file=exp.dmp full=y filesize=1G

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    131

    Thank you very much Mr.PIPO,
    for the valuable explanation.

    I wanted to know that if we give "file=exp.dmp and filesize=1GB" as you said ,

    What I understand is that , the first file "exp.dmp" will be stored with only 1GB data.

    and..after that What will be the second and third filenames....?

    What is the sequence of filenaming...?

    I am some what confused... pls. throw some light on it.

    Thanks a lot.

    Anandharaj
    a_anandharaj@yahoo.com

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    809
    there are 2 answers. either you specify all file names on the command line, or you are prompted each time this is needed :

    exp user/pwd ... file=exp1.dmp,exp2.dmp,...,expn.dmp filesize=1G

    will export in exp1.dmp, then exp2.dmp, and so on ...

    or you can do :

    exp user/pwd ... file=exp.dmp filesize=1G

    and you'll be prompted for the next file name when exp.dmp is full ...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width