ORA-12505: TNS:listener could not resolve SID given
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: ORA-12505: TNS:listener could not resolve SID given

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    42

    Unhappy

    Using Oracle 8.0.5 in Windows 2000 Server.

    I created a DB, and I check it correctly by using SQL*Plus with my user/password.

    But I've got a problem when trying to create a service.

    I modified LISTENER.ORA, adding:
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = IPC)(KEY = MY_SID))
    and
    (SID_DESC = (SID_NAME = MY_SID))

    I modified TNSNAMES.ORA, adding:
    MY_SERV.WORLD =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(Host = 127.0.0.1)(Port = 1521))
    (CONNECT_DATA = (SID = MY_SID))
    )

    But when trying to connect this service (for instance, using 'TORA' or testing with 'Oracle Net8 Easy Config') I get this error message:
    ******
    ORA-12505: TNS:listener could not resolve SID given in connect descriptor
    ******

    If I type in MSDOS, I get
    > echo %ORACLE_SID%
    MY_SID

    And I'm able to connect via SQL*Plus... what am I doing wrong?

    Any suggestion is apreciated. Regards and thank you very much.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    763
    Look for all the tnsnames.ora in your machine and add the entry for your db.

    If you have only one tnsnames.ora, probably you have to check your NAMES.DEFAULT_DOMAIN = world parameter in the sqlnet.ora same as you put on your tnsnames.ora.

    Do you understand?

    Hope that helps

    Angel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    42
    Thank you, aarroyob, for answering.

    I've just checked my TNSNAMES.ORA and it was included:

    MY_SERVICE.WORLD =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(Host = 127.0.0.1)(Port = 1521))
    (CONNECT_DATA = (SID = MY_SID))
    )

    And I also checked my SQLNET.ORA and it includes:

    names.default_domain = world

    The name of my SID is MY_SID and the service is MY_SERVICE. I'm able to connect it via SQL*Plus, but it's impossible to connect it as a service.
    ========
    LARRY ELLISON

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Atlanta, USA
    Posts
    131
    Hi,

    As per my understanding, If you have one more TNSNAME.ORA in C:\ root directory, Oracle will try to refer this TNANAME file everytime...Not in Oracle_home\Network directory.

    So, Please check you have only one TNSNAMES.ORA in ORACLE_HOME\network Directory. If you have any more, please delete it and try out.




    Anandharaj
    a_anandharaj@yahoo.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Insted of SID change that to SERVICE_NAME = MY_SERVICE and try. Also make sure that you have this change in all the tnsnames.ora files.

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width