dblink for identical db names
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: dblink for identical db names

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    NJ, United States
    Posts
    250
    I have one instance TCMS in A server and antoher instance TCMS in B server, how do I create the database link in A for B.
    It gives me ORA-02082: a loopback database link must have a connection qualifier.

    How do you resolve this?? Please help

    Thanx, your help is greatly appreciated
    KN

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    Setup a new alias in your tnsnames.ora file on the server and point to the instance on server B.
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    NJ, United States
    Posts
    250
    I have that set up already, this is the entry I have for server B for TCS:
    VALLEY=
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 10.10.4.4)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = TCS)
    )
    )

    and this is the one I have for server A for TCS database
    TCS =
    (DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS_LIST =
    (ADDRESS = (PROTOCOL = TCP)(HOST = 1.3.0.45)(PORT = 1521))
    )
    (CONNECT_DATA =
    (SERVICE_NAME = TCS)
    )
    )

    I can connect to both of them otherwise. BUt when I try to create a database link TCS(in server B) in TCS(in server A)
    It gives me the above error.
    If I try to give Valley as the db link name/db name I get the error:
    unable to resolve service name error

    Thanx
    KN

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    While you are on serverA, can you sqlplus to serverB using the VALLEY alias?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    NJ, United States
    Posts
    250
    Yes I can.
    KN

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Location
    greenwich.ct.us
    Posts
    9,092
    What commands are you using to create the DB link?
    Jeff Hunter
    marist89@yahoo.com
    http://marist89.blogspot.com/
    Get Firefox!
    "I pledge to stop eating sharks fin soup and will not do so under any circumstances."

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    If you have global_name = true than it is not allowed to create database link different from database global_name.
    So, try either change global_Name to valley, or set global_name = false.

    Another option is to use fully quilified name , starting with the server name to differentiate between 2 databases.
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    NJ, United States
    Posts
    250
    Global names is set to false in both the servers.

    Where do you have this fully qualified name(you mean the service name right) in the server as well as client's machine or.....
    KN

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    335
    Please, publish a command to create db link
    One, who thinks that the other one who thinks that know and does not know, does not know either!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2000
    Location
    NJ, United States
    Posts
    250
    CREATE DATABASE LINK TCS
    CONNECT TO TCSDATA IDENTIFIED BY tcsdata
    USING 'tcs'
    /
    I get the above mentioned loopback error when I run this.

    CREATE DATABASE LINK valley_heart
    CONNECT TO TCSDATA IDENTIFIED BY tcsdata
    USING 'valley_heart'
    /
    It creates the db link but when I try to use it:
    it gives me unable to resolve service name error.

    KN

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width