Duplicate Usernames
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Duplicate Usernames

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    178
    Hi,

    I ran 'select username from dba_users' on one of my databases and received DUPLICATE usernames for all users. How do I resolve this and why did it happen in the first place?

    AC

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    809
    select other columns, like account_status for example, I guess you'll find a difference between your users ...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    389
    do the case of these usernames differ.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620
    Hi,

    IS user_id same in duplicate usernames?

    Thanx
    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    178
    Yes, everything is exactly identical, case, account_no, password (CODED of course). As I wrote, 'select * from dba_users order by username' generates identical columns.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2000
    Posts
    521
    If you are really "seeing" a duplicate username, for sure there are trailing "white spaces" in one of them.

    Use replace(username,' ','#') and look at it.
    svk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    620
    It seems someone has played with the database. Kind of Import with ignore=Y option or Inserting in to the same table.

    Bounce back the database if possible.

    Otherwise, remove the duplicate rows.

    Thanks,
    Sam
    ------------------------
    To handle yourself, use your head. To handle others, use your heart

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    178
    Thanks, The data owned by these users are also duplicated. I'm contemplating re-installation of Oracle and restoration from the last backup before the incident. It's a big job and I'm not looking forward to it unless someone out there has another alternative.

    AC

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Halifax, Nova Scotia
    Posts
    197
    Why would you need to re-innstall Oracle

    Just restoring from an previous backup should be suffcient
    Don't be afraid to try something new. Amateurs built the Ark, professionals built the Titanic

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2000
    Posts
    178
    I can drop the tablespaces and import a previous backup but I'm not sure what caused the problem in the first place and how deep the damage/corruption is.

    I'm not looking forward to the re-installation neither am I willing to have to face the same problem after drop .... import. Re-installation seems to be the better of the two evils.

    AC

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width