resize in raw device
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: resize in raw device

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    hi

    I have a temporary tablespace in raw device, few days back we were getting problems with this raw device so we extended raw partition from 200MB to 400MB however my doub is how can I resize at database level? Should I drop the temporary tablespace and recreate it with 400MB?

    cheers

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    41
    how did u create the temporary tablespace.
    i mean have u used
    create temporary tablespace < name >
    tempfile 'xxx'

    if u create like this u will not have a dictionary enry for this.
    better u drop and recreate the temporary tablespace.


    san

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    well, I dont really mind about the dictionary, what I was asking if you can resize a datafile in raw device using resize command or you have to drop and recreate the tablespace

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Bangalore
    Posts
    41
    first check the path of the datafile of the temporary tablespace.

    if u have then use

    alter database datafile 'xxx' resize 400M;

    this will work.

    if u create a temporary tablespace using keyword temporary
    and datafile ' path'

    then definetely find out the location and increase this way.

    xxx --> full path of ur datafile.
    san

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    467
    Without extending the partition, you can resize the partition < or > but not greater then the actual partition size.

    Vinit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Originally posted by pando
    well, I dont really mind about the dictionary, what I was asking if you can resize a datafile in raw device using resize command or you have to drop and recreate the tablespace
    Pando, my TEMP tablespaces are on raw devices, I do drop and recreate. I suggest you do that.

    I have 1G partitions for TEMP tablespaces.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    I managed to resize, it takes a bit longer than resizing in file system (i thought it was hanging at the beggining), had to leave a few oracle data blocks empty though

    BTW it was HP-UX 11.0 Oracle 8.0.6 Enterprise

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Interesting to hear that. I have never resized TEMP. Since it's TEMP, I drop and recreate.


  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    7,448
    I thought that too but in this shop to drop and recreate tablespace you probably have to wait two days due to huge stuffs (burocracy, english is this?) we have to do... sad but true

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width