pct free
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 33

Thread: pct free

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    Hi,
    in my server stats it gives that pctfree for a table is low
    Now how do i find out which table is that which haslow pctfree?
    Thanx
    Sam

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Madrid, Spain
    Posts
    763
    Hi,

    Check for the tables with more updates in your database.

    Angel

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    725
    How are you getting your server stats ?

    Analyze your tables.
    select chain_cnt, table_name, owner
    from dba_tables
    where chain_cnt > 0

    If any of your tables have row chaining in them, increase pct_free for table.

    search forums on how to resolve row chaining.

    If I remember correctly, you will have to copy chained rows to another table.
    delete chained rows from table
    copy chained rows back to table with higher pct_free setting.



    Once you have eliminated all of the impossible,
    whatever remains however improbable,
    must be true.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    Hi,
    I have this table that has 8 varchar2(4000) cols and 1 nmber col

    this table has 6000 rows
    And after the inserts i found that i has a lottt of chained rows
    this table has just inserts and seldom updated so i kept the pctfree as 5 and pctused as 60
    but still the when i analyze i find that it has chained rows.
    How do i go about with this?

    Thanx a lot
    Sam

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Posts
    467
    are most of your tables chained ? Increasing your db blocksize may help.
    Vinit

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    5 were...
    increase in the pctfree of 4 worked..but for 1 it dint...
    4454 cols out of 6000 rows are chained in this table

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    Originally posted by vinit
    are most of your tables chained ? Increasing your db blocksize may help.
    Just to remind:
    Increasing your db blocksize means you have to recreate your db. :-))

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Posts
    316
    so would me increasing the MINEXTENTS and MAXEXTENTS help?
    BTW can I alter this?
    thanx
    Sam

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Makati, Philippines
    Posts
    857
    It can't help since chaining/migration issues is in a block level.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    Just to remind:
    Increasing your db blocksize means you have to recreate your db. :-))
    Yes, below 9i.

    For a 9i running instance, you can create a new tablespace with, say, 16K block size:

    create tablespace tbs16K
    datafile '/ora900/oradata/tbs16K.dbf' size 256M
    blocksize 16k;


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  


Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width