How to backup database to tape with RMAN and LSM?
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: How to backup database to tape with RMAN and LSM?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    3
    Failed to backup database to tape using RMAN and LSM! but can backup
    database to disk using RMAN.

    Here is the cmd and error log:
    1.C:\>inquire
    scsidev@0.0.0:LG CD-ROM CRD-8483B1.00|CD-ROM
    scsidev@1.0.0: |Disk
    scsidev@2.0.0:SEAGATE ST318404LC 0002|Disk, \\.\PHYSICALDRIVE4
    scsidev@2.1.0:SEAGATE ST318404LC 0002|Disk, \\.\PHYSICALDRIVE5
    scsidev@2.6.0:ESG-SHV SCA HSBP M8 0.05|Processor
    scsidev@3.3.0:HP C1537A L005|Tape, \\.\Tape0
    2.C:> rman rcvcat rman/rman@rmancat target internal/oracle@zbxt cmdfile
    "zbxt.txt"
    Recovery Manager: Release 8.1.6.0.0 - Production
    RMAN-06005: connected to target database: ZBXT (DBID=1586247895)
    RMAN-06008: connected to recovery catalog database
    RMAN> run {
    2> allocate channel tt type 'SBT_TAPE';
    3> backup tag 'zbxt_test'
    4> format 'zbxt_t%t_s%s_p%p'
    5> (tablespace users);
    6> release channel tt;
    9> }
    10>
    RMAN-03022: compiling command: allocate
    RMAN-03023: executing command: allocate
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-03007: retryable error occurred during execution of command: allocate
    RMAN-07004: unhandled exception during command execution on channel tt
    RMAN-10035: exception raised in RPC: ORA-19554: error allocating device, device
    type: SBT_TAPE, device name:
    ORA-19557: device error, device type: SBT_TAPE, device name:
    ORA-27000: skgfqsbi: failed to initialize storage subsystem (SBT) layer
    ORA-19511: SBT error = 4110, errno = 0, BACKUP_DIR environment variable is not
    s
    et
    RMAN-10031: ORA-19624 occurred during call to
    DBMS_BACKUP_RESTORE.DEVICEALLOCATE
    Recovery Manager complete.


    By the way,can someone tell whether or not I have to register LSM ?I 'm using the LSM inside the Oracle CD.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2000
    Location
    Saskatoon, SK, Canada
    Posts
    3,925
    Make sure that you have configured the LSM properly. The RMAN seems to have troble in allocating a tape channel.

    Sam
    Thanx
    Sam



    Life is a journey, not a destination!


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2001
    Location
    Fort Smith
    Posts
    184
    Bookmark Fixed font Go to End

    Doc ID: Note:118363.1
    Subject: RMAN: Unable to Backup to Tape on NT Without ORASBT.DLL Using Legato; ORA-19511
    Type: PROBLEM
    Status: PUBLISHED
    Content Type: TEXT/PLAIN
    Creation Date: 25-AUG-2000
    Last Revision Date: 13-NOV-2001


    Problem Description
    -------------------

    When attempting to backup to tape with the bundled Legato Storage Manager (LSM)
    you are getting the following error stack on NT platforms;

    RMAN> run {
    2> allocate channel t1 type 'sbt_tape';
    3> backup format 'db_&s_%p' database;
    4> }

    RMAN-03022: compiling command: allocate
    RMAN-03023: executing command: allocate
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-00569: =============== ERROR MESSAGE STACK FOLLOWS ===============
    RMAN-00571: ===========================================================
    RMAN-03007: retryable error occurred during execution of command: allocate
    RMAN-07004: unhandled exception during command execution on channel t1
    RMAN-10035: exception raised in RPC: ORA-19554: error allocating device, device
    type: SBT_TAPE, device name:
    ORA-19557: device error, device type: SBT_TAPE, device name:
    ORA-27000: skgfqsbi: failed to initialize storage subsystem (SBT) layer
    ORA-19511: SBT error = 4110, errno = 0, BACKUP_DIR environment variable is not s
    et
    RMAN-10031: ORA-19624 occurred during call to DBMS_BACKUP_RESTORE.DEVICEALLOCATE


    Solution Description
    --------------------

    To fix this problem verify that ORASBT.DLL is in the subdirectory for legato,
    (root:\win32app\nsr\bin or root:\Program FIles\nsr\bin) and the NT directory
    (root:\winnt\system32) This file must exist in both directories or you will
    get the above error stack.


    Explanation
    -----------

    This is similar to soft linking on unix in article 102819.1 and bug 1252142.


    References
    ----------

    [BUG:1252142].


    Additional Search Words
    -----------------------

    RMAN, legato, lsm, backup
    .



    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Copyright (c) 1995,2000 Oracle Corporation. All Rights Reserved. Legal Notices and Terms of Use.

    sonofsita
    http://www.ordba.net

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    3

    Question

    There is already a orasbt.dll in c:\winnt\system32 but no one in c:\win32app\nsr\bin.

    After have put a orasbt.dll in c:\win32app\nsr\bin, the same error messages.

    Don't I have to reboot the os or db or other things after copy the orasbt.dll?


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Posts
    3
    Originally posted by cgzgdzq
    There is already a orasbt.dll in c:\winnt\system32 but no one in c:\win32app\nsr\bin.

    After have put a orasbt.dll in c:\win32app\nsr\bin, the same error messages.

    Don't I have to reboot the os or db or other things after copy the orasbt.dll?

    1.reboot os is unusefull,the problem remains the same.



    2.I have sovled the problem with the information in the below article,the key is the PATH:




    Error Message : Error allocating device, (Insure that orasbt.dll)


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Applicable Products
    NetWorker (all platforms)
    Oracle Windows NT (Intel) 4.0
    On NT 4.0 with any service pack
    Oracle 8.1.6

    Error
    RMAN-10035: exception raised in RPC: ORA-19554: error allocating device, device type: SBT_TAPE, device name:
    ORA-19557: device error, device type: SBT_TAPE, device name:
    ORA-27023: skgfqsbi: media manager protocol error
    ORA-19511: SBT error 7501 in function sbtinit2 - sbterror did not return error message
    RMAN-10031: ORA-19624 occurred during call to DBMS_BACKUP_RESTORE.DEVICEALLOCATE


    Cause
    PIn order to backup using NMO, Oracle should be linked to our module. To link Oracle with our module we should reboot the NT box. Oracle will search for a library called orasbt.dll. Oracle must find this library in the system path to link with our module.

    This indicates that our NMO module is not linked properly with Oracle. Try the simplest script to just creates a channel using SBT_TAPE device. An example is some thing like this:

    run { allocate channel t1 type 'SBT_TAPE' parms 'ENV=(NSR_SERVER=aiman.legato.com;NSR_DATA_VOLUME=Oracle)'; release channel t1; }

    This is enough for the test. Set the environmnet variables to those in your customer site.

    To be sure that orasbt.dll is linked to Oracle. Try to delete it will give you errors if it is linked to Oracle. Try something like this:

    C:\Program Files\nsr\bin>del orasbt.dll
    C:\Program Files\nsr\bin\orasbt.dll
    Access is denied.


    Solution
    1- Insure that orasbt.dll is installed and only one copy is active in the system. Usually it is in the program files \nsr\bin or in C:\win32app\nsr\bin. In the same directory libnwora.dll is located as well. 2- Insure that Networker binaries are earlier in the path on the system path. This will insure that Oracle could find the orasbt.dll at the beginning of the path. There is a problem with Oracle in finding the orasbt.dll if there is a space in the path. This is reported in escalation LGTpa28232 ( see comments below ). The solution is to move Networker bin directory to the beginning of the path.

    Additional Information
    BugID: LGTpa28232

    COMMENTS: From the above escalation:

    After some investigation it has been determined that, any space preceeding or proceeding the NetWorker PATH, will cause this behaviour.

    Invalid Path Examples:
    %SystemRoot%\system32;...; C:\Program Files\nsr\bin;...
    %SystemRoot%\system32;...;C:\Program Files\nsr\bin ;...


    Valid Path:
    %SystemRoot%\system32;...;C:\Program Files\nsr\bin;...


    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Creation Date: 3/01/01
    Modified Date:
    Revision:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width