DBLINK FROM R8.1.1 TO R7.1
DBAsupport.com Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: DBLINK FROM R8.1.1 TO R7.1

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    725
    Hi friends..

    Is it possible to create a dblink from an oracle 8.1.7 database to an oracle 7.1 database ?

    can you please tell me how to set this up ?

    thanks

    Suresh
    Once you have eliminated all of the impossible,
    whatever remains however improbable,
    must be true.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    389
    I know it is possible with 7.3.4 , why not give a try.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    725
    Hi Gpsinh...

    I am setting up dblink from 2 8i databases so that I know how to do it.

    I have 2 databases

    1. testbox
    2. testbox2

    I am able to connect to both of these databases through sqlplus

    suresh/passwd@testbox
    suresh/passwd@testbox2

    I am creating link from testbox1 to testbox2.
    GLOBAL_NAME is set to FALSE.

    I have a table on testbox2 database called table1, owned by suresh : suresh.table1


    This is what I have done :

    connected to testbox : suresh/suresh@testbox

    now I want to create a link to testbox2 :-

    create public database link testbox2link
    connect to current_user using 'testbox2'

    database link created.


    now I issue the following sql:

    select * from suresh.suresh@testbox2link

    I get the folowing error message :

    ORA-12154: TNS:could not resolve service name

    testbox2 is defined in tnsnames and I am able to connect it independantly of the database link.

    any ideas on what I m doing wrong ?

    Thanks

    Suersh




    now I enter the following sql







    Once you have eliminated all of the impossible,
    whatever remains however improbable,
    must be true.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Posts
    389
    just to confirm , in tnsnames.ora
    is it testbox2 or testbox2.world(or something else).
    Same should be used for connect string in db link.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    725
    Hi.

    it's 'testbox2.domain.name'

    i have put this in the
    using 'testbox2.domain.name' part of the statement but still getting tns - 1254.

    any ideas



    Once you have eliminated all of the impossible,
    whatever remains however improbable,
    must be true.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Helsinki. Finland
    Posts
    3,938
    7.1 is no longer supported but there is a workaround:

    CREATE DATABASE LINK DB_linkname
    CONNECT TO user_name IDENTIFIED BY password
    USING '(DESCRIPTION =
    (ADDRESS =
    (PROTOCOL = TCP)
    (HOST = hostname)
    (PORT = port_number))
    (CONNECT_DATA = (SID=sid_name)))';

    Does it work now?









  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    London
    Posts
    725
    Hi Julian,

    Thanks for you help.. that works fine.

    strange though..

    I find I need to create a link this way for a link between 817 and 816.

    For some reason it has a problem desifering my tnsnames.ora file for connection information, even though I am able to connect to either database through sqlplus.

    strange but true..

    The only difference is the way the sid is specified :
    'service name' in tnsnames
    'sid' in db_link







    Once you have eliminated all of the impossible,
    whatever remains however improbable,
    must be true.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  



Click Here to Expand Forum to Full Width